The Road from Coorain


Author: Jill Ker Conway
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: 9780307797308
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 256
View: 1695

Continue Reading →

Jill Ker Conway is a noted historian, specializing in the experience of women in America, and was the first woman president of Smith College.

The Road From Coorain


Author: Jill Ker Conway
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 1446485390
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 256
View: 807

Continue Reading →

The Road From Coorain is the beautifully written narrative of Jill Ker Conway's journey from girlhood on an isolated sheep-farm in the grasslands of Australia to her departure for America (and eventually the presidency of Smith College).

The Road from Coorain


Author: Jill K. Conway
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 0749398949
Category: Australia
Page: 237
View: 8247

Continue Reading →

The Road From Coorain is the beautifully written narrative of Jill Ker Conway's journey from girlhood on an isolated sheep-farm in the grasslands of Australia to her departure for America (and eventually the presidency of Smith College).

True North

A Memoir
Author: Jill Ker Conway
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: 0307797333
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 272
View: 9819

Continue Reading →

True North is the inspirational Canadian Chapter of Jill Ker Conway's life story, which began with her much love, bestselling memoir, The Road from Coorain. Beginning with her departure from Australia, Jill Ker Conway tells of her romance with Harvard House Master John Conway, of coming to grips with his manic-depressive disorder, and of their move to Canada in 1964 where she became the first female vice-president at the University of Toronto. In this vibrant memoir, we watch as a most private woman makes of herself a public persona in Canada. From the Hardcover edition.

Inventing the Truth

The Art and Craft of Memoir
Author: Russell Baker,William Knowlton Zinsser
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780395901502
Category: Language Arts & Disciplines
Page: 227
View: 795

Continue Reading →

Nine authors discuss the problems and pleasures of reinventing the past.

Written by Herself

Literary Production by African American Women, 1746-1892
Author: Frances Smith Foster
Publisher: Indiana University Press
ISBN: 9780253207869
Category: Literary Criticism
Page: 206
View: 5660

Continue Reading →

ÒI am very impressed by Frances Smith FosterÕs Written by Herself, a work of thorough scholarship, judicious criticism, and original insights. . . . This book will confirm her leadership among those working in this ever-expanding field.Ó ÑWilliam L. Andrews Written by Herself is the first comprehensive cultural history of literature by African American women prior to the twentieth century. Beginning with the earliest extant writings, Frances Smith Foster frames her textual analyses within the writersÕ social and literary contexts. These works stem from literary traditions and cultural interventions received, invented, or modified by writers who defied the accepted literary prerogatives of their race, gender, and class. Their literature was argument, designed to correct or to instruct an audience often ignorant about or even hostile to Black women. Adapting existing genres and literary techniques, these authors developed a form of literary signification and saw themselves as part of a continuing literary tradition. Foster begins with the oral histories of Alice, a slave born in Philadelphia in 1686. She continues with political activists Maria W. Stewart and Anna Julia Cooper, precursors of the African American womenÕs literary tradition that included Lucy Terry Price, Phyllis Wheatley, Jarena Lee, Harriet Jacobs, Elizabeth Keckley, Frances Ellen Watkins Harper, and Octavia Victoria Rogers Albert.

Overnight Float


Author: Jill Ker Conway,Clare Munnings,Elizabeth Kennan
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
ISBN: 9780142000113
Category: Fiction
Page: 288
View: 3020

Continue Reading →

A college chaplain still recovering from her husband's tragic death, Rosemary Stubbs finds herself joining forces with a local police detective to investigate the mysterious drowning death of a college official. Reprint.

Cooper's Creek

Tragedy and Adventure in the Australian Outback
Author: Alan Moorehead
Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing Inc.
ISBN: 1616080221
Category: History
Page: 224
View: 7224

Continue Reading →

Originally published: New York: Harper & Row, c1963.

In Her Own Words

Women's Memoirs from Australia, New Zealand, Canada, and the United States
Author: Jill Ker Conway
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: 0307797244
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 624
View: 8640

Continue Reading →

Jill Ker Conway, author of one of the most celebrated memoirs of recent decades, is also the premier anthologist of women's autobiographical writing. In Her Own Words is Conway's distillation of women's experience from the British Commonwealth world she came from, compared with major themes in women's lives in the United States, which is now her home. In this dazzling collection, we meet twelve remarkable women−from Shirley Chisholm, the West Indian-raised girl who became the first black woman to be elected to the U.S. Congress, to Janet Frame, the brilliant New Zealand writer who overcame involuntary treatment in a mental institution to write one of the archetypal analyses of the post-colonial experience. We learn how the world of politics and the private self intersect in the four offshoots of the old British world, and see how these women have made a difference−by their honesty, by the scale of their struggle for self-knowledge and autonomy, and by the power of their writing. Patricia Adam-Smith Lillian Hellman Rosemary Brown Dorothy Hewett Kim Chernin Robin Hyde Shirley Chisholm Dorothy Livesay Lauris Edmond Sally Morgan Janet Frame Gabrielle Roy

The Getting of Wisdom


Author: Henry Handel Richardson
Publisher: Read Books Ltd
ISBN: 1473388384
Category: Fiction
Page: 236
View: 9216

Continue Reading →

The Getting of Wisdom is a novel by Australian novelist Henry Handel Richardson. It was first published in 1910, and has almost always been in print ever since. Henry Handel Richardson was the pseudonym of Ethel Florence Lindesay Richardson, a writer who was born in 1870 to a reasonably well-off family which later fell on hard times. The author's family lived in various Victorian towns and from the age of 13 to 17 Richardson attended boarding school at the Presbyterian Ladies' College in Melbourne, Victoria. It's this experience that feeds directly into The Getting of Wisdom.

If You Knew Suzy

A Mother, a Daughter, a Reporter's Notebook
Author: Katherine Rosman
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 0061991228
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 320
View: 5678

Continue Reading →

“Katherine Rosman has a great gift for articulating the yearnings of daughterhood and the mysteries of motherhood.” — Jeffrey Zaslow, coauthor of The Last Lecture “Katherine Rosman’s voice rings with truth, pain, and hard-won humor as she reports from the heart in this bold, cathartic tale of a daughter’s search to find meaning in her mother’s death.... This book beats with a heart of its own.” — Janice Y.K. Lee, author of The Piano Teacher In lively, intimate prose, Wall Street Journal culture reporter Katherine Rosman reconnects with her late mother by reporting on the life she led outside of her roles as mom and wife.

Wild Steps of Heaven


Author: Victor Villaseñor
Publisher: Delta
ISBN: 0385315694
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 304
View: 3004

Continue Reading →

Follows the story of the author's father, Juan, who as a child witnessed the devastating effects of persecution and poverty on his once-noble Mexican family

Daisy Bates in the Desert

A Woman's Life Among the Aborigines
Author: Julia Blackburn
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: 0307829235
Category: Social Science
Page: 240
View: 5002

Continue Reading →

In 1913, at the age of 54, Daisy Bates went to live in the deserts of South Australia. Brilliantly reviewed, astonishingly original, this "eloquent and illuminating portrait of an extraordinary woman" (New York Times Book Review) tells a fascinating, true story in the tradition of Isak Dinesen and Barry Lopez.

Felipe the Flamingo


Author: Jill Ker Conway
Publisher: Fulcrum Pub
ISBN: 9781555915476
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 32
View: 9439

Continue Reading →

Felipe is small for a flamingo of his age, and his feathers and legs are not pink, but with the help of some friends he sorts out his problems and begins to feel better about himself.

The Three Pillars of Zen


Author: Roshi P. Kapleau
Publisher: Anchor
ISBN: 0307763579
Category: Religion
Page: 480
View: 2558

Continue Reading →

In this classic work of spiritual guidance, the founder of the Rochester Zen Center presents a comprehensive overview of Zen Buddhism. Exploring the three pillars of Zen—teaching, practice, and enlightenment—Roshi Philip Kapleau, the man who founded one of the oldest and most influential Zen centers in the United States, presents a personal account of his own experiences as a student and teacher, and in so doing gives readers invaluable advice on how to develop their own practices. Revised and updated, this 35th anniversary edition features new illustrations and photographs, as well as a new afterword by Sensei Bodhin Kjolhede, who succeeded Kapleau as spiritual director of the Rochester Zen Center. A moving, eye-opening work, The Three Pillars of Zen is the definitive introduction to the history and discipline of Zen.

The Art of Doing

How Superachievers Do what They Do and how They Do it So Well
Author: Camille Sweeney,Josh Gosfield
Publisher: Plume
ISBN: 0452298172
Category: Self-Help
Page: 272
View: 1441

Continue Reading →

High achievers who have made it to the top of their respective fields describe how they do what they do, featuring advice from Will Shortz on creating a mind-bending crossword puzzle and from the OkCupid founders on finding love online.

A Concise History of Australia


Author: Stuart Macintyre
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 1139915533
Category: History
Page: N.A
View: 4792

Continue Reading →

Australia is the last continent to be settled by Europeans, but it also sustains a people and a culture tens of thousands years old. For much of the past 200 years the newcomers have sought to replace the old with the new. This book tells how they imposed themselves on the land, and brought technology, institutions and ideas to make it their own. It relates the advance from penal colony to a prosperous free nation and illustrates how, as a nation created by waves of newcomers, the search for binding traditions was long frustrated by the feeling of rootlessness, until it came to terms with its origins. The third edition of this acclaimed book recounts the key factors - social, economic and political - that have shaped modern-day Australia. It covers the rise and fall of the Howard government, the 2007 election and the apology to the stolen generation. More than ever before, Australians draw on the past to understand their future.

Whatever Happened to Jacy Farrow?


Author: Ceil Cleveland
Publisher: University of North Texas Press
ISBN: 9781574410303
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 321
View: 4680

Continue Reading →

Ceil Cleveland, the inspiration for Larry McMurtry's character Jacy Farrow in the novel-turned-movie "The Last Picture Show", describes what it was like to grow up in her Texas town and reflects on how the book and film impacted her life.