Gender and Archiving: Past, Present, Future


Author: Renée Römkens
Publisher: Uitgeverij Verloren
ISBN: 9087046510
Category:
Page: 173
View: 1730

Continue Reading →

This 37th volume of the Yearbook of Women's History focuses on the meaning and potential of archiving for enhancing gender equality and the position of women worldwide. More than just storehouses of knowledge, archives offer new ways for understanding the past, debating the present and creating the future. Focusing on both traditional and non-traditional archival practices, in various parts of the world, the Yearbook of Women’s History explores the meaning of archiving for women and women’s history. Besides investigating the feminist potential of the archive, it also examines questions of erasure and forgetting. While archives may have emancipatory or democratizing potential, practices of discarding equally shape the histories that can be written, and the stories that can be told. The articles in this volume are alternated with descriptions of collections and institutes, and the topics addressed cover a full range of archival theory and practice. This volume has been produced by the editorial board of the Yearbook of Women's History in collaboration with Atria, institute on gender equality and women's history in Amsterdam, the Netherlands.

The Mirror

Issue 2,715 December 30 2006
Author: Margaret Safo (Mrs.)
Publisher: Graphic Communications Group
ISBN: N.A
Category:
Page: N.A
View: 8285

Continue Reading →

A Woman Making History

Mary Ritter Beard Through Her Letters
Author: Mary Ritter Beard
Publisher: Yale University Press
ISBN: 9780300048254
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 378
View: 7233

Continue Reading →

Historian, social reformer, and women's suffrage campaigner, Mary Ritter Beard (1876-1958) was one of the most prominent intellectuals of her day. Co-author with her husband, Charles Beard of The Rise of American Civilization: and other works in US history, she also founded the modern field of women's history. This collection of her letters, offers in effect an intellectual biography which is considered to be better documented and more vivid than any previous book about her.

An Unnecessary Woman

A Novel
Author: Rabih Alameddine
Publisher: Open Road + Grove/Atlantic
ISBN: 0802192874
Category: Fiction
Page: 306
View: 7683

Continue Reading →

Winner of the California Book Award Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist for the National Book Award Beautiful and absorbing.” New York Times An Unnecessary Woman is a breathtaking portrait of one reclusive woman’s late-life crisis, which garnered a wave of rave reviews and love letters to Alameddine’s cranky yet charming septuagenarian protagonist, Aaliya, a character you can’t help but love” (NPR). Aaliya’s insightful musings on literature, philosophy, and art are invaded by memories of the Lebanese Civil War and her volatile past. As she tries to overcome her aging body and spontaneous emotional upwellings, Aaliya is faced with an unthinkable disaster that threatens to shatter the little life she has left. Here, the gifted Rabih Alameddine has given us a nuanced rendering of one woman's life in the Middle East and an enduring ode to literature and its power to define who we are. A paean to the transformative power of reading, to the intellectual asylum from one’s circumstances found in the life of the mind.” LA Review of Books [The novel] throbs with energy [Aaliya’s] inventive way with words gives unfailing pleasure, no matter how dark the events she describes, how painful the emotions she reveals.” Washington Post

Three Colors of My Life


Author: William Dunwill
Publisher: iUniverse
ISBN: 0595328806
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 400
View: 2538

Continue Reading →

An incredible, true story of a Holocaust survivor. When your world collapses around you, when your family is exterminated and your life is worth less than a dog's life, what do you do to survive? Young, David Tenenbaum chooses an unusual path to survival Equipped with the false Arian identity papers, he goes where only non-Jews would risk going at the time-he volunteers for work in Germany, in their Arbeit camps. What does he need to do to survive? How close is far enough from death? From Nazi Germany we are taken to the communist post-war Poland where we gain insight to the operations of the communist regime. Three Colors of My Life is a fascinating story of personal experience set on the background of the largest state organized mass ethnic cleansing in history.

The First 'Women in Love'


Author: D. H. Lawrence,John Worthen,Lindeth Vasey
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9780521007092
Category: Fiction
Page: 592
View: 8573

Continue Reading →

The first critical edition of The First 'Women in Love'.

In the Hands of Providence

Joshua L. Chamberlain and the American Civil War
Author: Alice Rains Trulock
Publisher: UNC Press Books
ISBN: 1469615665
Category: History
Page: 592
View: 5583

Continue Reading →

Deserve[s] a place on every Civil War bookshelf.--New York Times Book Review "[Trulock] brings her subject alive and escorts him through a brilliant career. One can easily say that the definitive work on Joshua Chamberlain has now been done.--James Robertson, Richmond Times-Dispatch "An example of history as it should be written. The author combines exhaustive research with an engaging prose style to produce a compelling narrative which will interest scholars and Civil War buffs alike.--Journal of Military History "A solid biography. . . . It does full justice to an astonishing life.--Library Journal This remarkable biography traces the life and times of Joshua L. Chamberlain, the professor-turned-soldier who led the Twentieth Maine Regiment to glory at Gettysburg, earned a battlefield promotion to brigadier general from Ulysses S. Grant at Petersburg, and was wounded six times during the course of the Civil War. Chosen to accept the formal Confederate surrender at Appomattox, Chamberlain endeared himself to succeeding generations with his unforgettable salutation of Robert E. Lee's vanquished army. After the war, he went on to serve four terms as governor of his home state of Maine and later became president of Bowdoin College. He wrote prolifically about the war, including The Passing of the Armies, a classic account of the final campaign of the Army of the Potomac.

A Literary Cavalcade-VI


Author: Robert A. Parker
Publisher: Lulu.com
ISBN: 1304321282
Category: Fiction
Page: 466
View: 7853

Continue Reading →

For six decades, writer and editor Robert A. Parker has followed up each book he reads, mainly novels, with an evaluation of that book. His comments are informed by his Jesuit upbringing but also by an independent critical view that balances a moral and literary sensibility. In this sixth of six volumes, the authors covered range from Ignazio Silone to Emile Zola. They include Solzhenitsyn, Spark, Stegner, Styron, Tanizaki, Tolstoy, Turow, Unsworth, Updike, Vargas Llosa, Warren, Waugh, and Wilder. The commentaries are listed alphabetically by author, and the books by the date of publication. At least 115 authors are included in this volume, some represented by one book, some by five or more. The writers here represent a broad range of writing styles, cultural influences, and moral philosophies. And all are rated on their literary achievement, on plot, character, and setting, plus the moral, ethical, and spiritual values of mankind. Here, the meaning of literature is measured against the meaning of life.

That Way Murder Lies (Mitchell & Markby 15)

A cosy Cotswolds crime novel of old friends, old mysteries and new murders
Author: Ann Granger
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 0755377273
Category: Fiction
Page: 237
View: 7044

Continue Reading →

A chilling secret from the past leads to a violent murder in the present... Mitchell and Markby must put their wedding plans on hold when an old friend seeks their help in That Way Murder Lies, the fifteenth English village murder mystery in Ann Granger's Mitchell & Markby series. The perfect read for fans of Kathy Cranston, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders. When Meredith Mitchell's old friend Toby Smythe turns up on leave, she is delighted to see him. But Toby has a problem - or rather his relative Alison Jenner has - and he wants to enlist the help of Meredith's fiance, Detective Superintendent Alan Markby. Alison has been receiving anonymous hate mail which alludes to the murder of her aunt, Freda Kemp, of which Alison was acquitted when she was just twenty. Who is the writer, and how does he or she know about this secret in Alison's past? Markby is at first reluctant to become involved, especially as he and Meredith are busy planning their wedding, but enquiries into a poison pen campaign soon turn into a murder hunt. With the help of Inspector Jessica Campbell, a new member of Markby's team, the investigation unravels a twenty-five-year-old mystery and its dreadful legacy of violence. What readers are saying about That Way Murder Lies: 'Enjoyable, clever, incredibly entertaining and interesting book' 'Anyone who enjoys a delightful English cosy that is a clever blending of amateur sleuth and police procedural will enjoy this series!' 'Quite a mystery right up to the very end'

Cool Fire

Culture-specific Themes in Tamil Short Stories
Author: Gabriella Eichinger Ferro-Luzzi
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783886940219
Category: Short stories, Tamil
Page: 365
View: 7879

Continue Reading →

The Good Wife's Guide (Le Ménagier de Paris)

A Medieval Household Book
Author: N.A
Publisher: Cornell University Press
ISBN: 0801462118
Category: History
Page: 384
View: 4202

Continue Reading →

In the closing years of the fourteenth century, an anonymous French writer compiled a book addressed to a fifteen-year-old bride, narrated in the voice of her husband, a wealthy, aging Parisian. The book was designed to teach this young wife the moral attributes, duties, and conduct befitting a woman of her station in society, in the almost certain event of her widowhood and subsequent remarriage. The work also provides a rich assembly of practical materials for the wife's use and for her household, including treatises on gardening and shopping, tips on choosing servants, directions on the medical care of horses and the training of hawks, plus menus for elaborate feasts, and more than 380 recipes. The Good Wife's Guide is the first complete modern English translation of this important medieval text also known as Le Ménagier de Paris (the Parisian household book), a work long recognized for its unique insights into the domestic life of the bourgeoisie during the later Middle Ages. The Good Wife's Guide, expertly rendered into modern English by Gina L. Greco and Christine M. Rose, is accompanied by an informative critical introduction setting the work in its proper medieval context as a conduct manual. This edition presents the book in its entirety, as it must have existed for its earliest readers. The Guide is now a treasure for the classroom, appealing to anyone studying medieval literature or history or considering the complex lives of medieval women. It illuminates the milieu and composition process of medieval authors and will in turn fascinate cooking or horticulture enthusiasts. The work illustrates how a (perhaps fictional) Parisian householder of the late fourteenth century might well have trained his wife so that her behavior could reflect honorably on him and enhance his reputation.

Chuck Klosterman on Film and Television

A Collection of Previously Published Essays
Author: Chuck Klosterman
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 1451624786
Category: Social Science
Page: 156
View: 7154

Continue Reading →

From Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs; Chuck Klosterman IV; and Eating the Dinosaur, these essays are now available in this ebook collection for fans of Klosterman’s writing on film and television.