The Gentleman's Magazine


Author: N.A
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Early English newspapers
Page: N.A
View: 6293

Continue Reading →

The "Gentleman's magazine" section is a digest of selections from the weekly press; the "(Trader's) monthly intelligencer" section consists of news (foreign and domestic), vital statistics, a register of the month's new publications, and a calendar of forthcoming trade fairs.

The Haunting of Hill House


Author: Shirley Jackson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101663006
Category: Fiction
Page: 288
View: 6371

Continue Reading →

The classic supernatural thriller by an author who helped define the genre First published in 1959, Shirley Jackson's The Haunting of Hill House has been hailed as a perfect work of unnerving terror. It is the story of four seekers who arrive at a notoriously unfriendly pile called Hill House: Dr. Montague, an occult scholar looking for solid evidence of a "haunting"; Theodora, his lighthearted assistant; Eleanor, a friendless, fragile young woman well acquainted with poltergeists; and Luke, the future heir of Hill House. At first, their stay seems destined to be merely a spooky encounter with inexplicable phenomena. But Hill House is gathering its powers—and soon it will choose one of them to make its own. For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Starter House

A Novel
Author: Sonja Condit
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 0062283065
Category: Fiction
Page: 400
View: 2611

Continue Reading →

Promising talent Sonja Condit makes her debut with Starter House, an eerie and mesmerizing tale about a young couple whose new house holds deadly secrets from the past, sure to appeal to fans of Heart-Shaped Box and The Thirteenth Tale. From the moment Lacey sees the house with the beautiful wood staircase, she knows she’s found her dream home. Growing up rootless with her flighty mother, Ella Dane, a self-proclaimed psychic, Lacey is determined to give her unborn baby the stability she never had. But shortly after she and her husband, Eric, move in, the warm and welcoming house becomes cold and dark. There is something malevolent within these walls that wants to hurt her unborn child—a terrifying presence that only she can sense. And there is Drew, a demanding and temperamental little boy who mysteriously appears when Lacey is alone. To protect her unborn child and save her family, Lacy must discover the truth about her dream house and the troubled Drew—a decades-old mystery involving secrets, violence, and guilt—and confront an evil that has lingered in wait for years.

Bride Price


Author: Karen Jones Delk
Publisher: HarperPrism
ISBN: 9780061082429
Category: Fiction
Page: 480
View: 6960

Continue Reading →

HarperMonogram has the hottest summer prices ever. Available now.

The Haunting of Ashburn House


Author: Darcy Coates
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9780994630605
Category:
Page: N.A
View: 7781

Continue Reading →

There's something wrong with Ashburn House... The ancient building has been the subject of rumours for close to a century. Its owner, Edith, refused to let guests inside and rarely visited the nearby town. Following Edith's death, her sole surviving relative, Adrienne, inherits the property. Adrienne's only possessions are a suitcase of luggage, twenty dollars, and her pet cat. Ashburn House is a lifeline she can't afford to refuse. Adrienne doesn't believe in ghosts, but it's hard to ignore the unease that grows as she explores her new home. Strange messages have been etched into the wallpaper, an old grave is hidden in the forest behind the house, and eerie portraits in the upstairs hall seem to watch her every movement. As she uncovers more of the house's secrets, Adrienne begins to believe the whispered rumours about Ashburn may hold more truth than she ever suspected. The building has a bleak and grisly past, and as she chases the threads of a decades-old mystery, Adrienne realises she's become the prey to something deeply unnatural and intensely resentful. Only one thing is certain: Ashburn's dead are not at rest.

Report of the Joint Select Committee to Inquire Into the Condition of Affairs in the Late Insurrectionary States, So Far as Regards the Execution of the Laws, and Safety of the Lives and Property of the Citizens of the United States and Testimony Taken: Testimony taken by the committee (July 7-Nov. 8, 1871) Georgia


Author: United States. Congress. Joint Select Committee on the Condition of Affairs in the Late Insurrectionary States
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Reconstruction
Page: N.A
View: 1221

Continue Reading →

The Story of Kimbrook Arabians


Author: Hope Ellis-Ashburn,Joanne Gutknecht
Publisher: CreateSpace
ISBN: 9781507820292
Category:
Page: 78
View: 6367

Continue Reading →

The Story of Kimbrook Arabians looks at the historic Arabian horse breeding program of Bill and Joanne Gutknecht built in Rubicon, WI and later rural Giles County, TN through the eyes of a family friend and owner of horses from the program.

Report of the Joint Select Committee Appointed to Inquire in to the Condition of Affairs in the Late Insurrectionary States

So Far as Regards the Execution of the Laws, and the Safety of the Lives and Property of the Citizens of the United States and Testimony Taken
Author: United States. Congress. Joint Select Committee on the Condition of Affairs in the Late Insurrectionary States
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)
Page: N.A
View: 5799

Continue Reading →

Builder Goose

It's Construction Rhyme Time!
Author: Boni Ashburn
Publisher: Sterling Publishing Company Incorporated
ISBN: 9781454908579
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 22
View: 5040

Continue Reading →

Mother Goose nursery rhymes are refashioned to feature construction projects.

Church Mouse

Memoir of a vampire's servant
Author: RH Hale
Publisher: Help For Writers Ltd
ISBN: 1910823236
Category: Fiction
Page: N.A
View: 5661

Continue Reading →

Rona never imagined her old church housed a terrible secret, until immortal eyes flickered from the dark and a mutilated manservant fell at her feet. Coerced into replacing him as ‘watchdog’ for the undead, Rona must discover her own dark side in order to survive.