Foreign Commerce and Navigation of the United States


Author: United States. Bureau of the Census
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Commercial statistics
Page: N.A
View: 6914

Continue Reading →

1876-1891 include reports on the internal commerce of the United States, referred to in letters of transmittal as "the volume on commerce and navigation."

L.A. Candy


Author: Lauren Conrad
Publisher: Planet Girl
ISBN: 3522652177
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 320
View: 2377

Continue Reading →

Los Angeles, die Stadt der Träume! Hier gibt es die heißesten Klubs, die coolsten Typen und die angesagtesten Designer! Jane und ihre beste Freundin Scarlett sind total happy - endlich kann ihr neues Leben beginnen. Kaum angekommen, wird schon der erste Traum wahr: Ein TV-Produzent will sie in seiner neuen Reality-Serie à la "Sex and the City" haben. Doch schon bald bemerkt Jane: Das Leben im Rampenlicht ist oft kein Zuckerschlecken ... Lauren Conrad ist bekannt aus der MTV-Erfolgsserie "The Hills". Ihre Romane "L.A. Candy" und "Sweet Little Lies" waren auf Platz 1 der New-York-Times-Bestsellerliste. "L.A. Candy" ist ihr Debütroman. Ihre Mode-Karriere begann sie als Fashion-Designerin im Frühjahr 2008 mit ihrer eigenen Lauren-Conrad-Kollektion. Lauren Conrad war unter anderem schon auf dem Cover der Cosmopolitan, der Teen Vogue, der US Weekly, dem Rolling Stone Magazin und der Entertainment Weekly. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Los Angeles.

A Suspicion of Silver


Author: P.F. Chisholm
Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd
ISBN: 1786696207
Category: Fiction
Page: 304
View: 1116

Continue Reading →

A brand-new Sir Robert Carey mystery, perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and S.J. Parris. Sir Robert Carey leaves the court of Scotland's King James VI in early January, 1593, on the hunt for Joachim Hochstetter – also known as Jonathan Hepburn. Carey, the Queen's Deputy Warden in Carlisle, is carrying a warrant for Hochstetter's arrest for plotting with the King of Spain and Scottish earls to assassinate King James. Hochstetter, a skilled engineer, is a son of a family of Anabaptists from Augsburg and may have taken ship. Or he may have gone to ground at Vicar's Island, Derwentwater, where his widowed mother, Radegunda, rules the smelting business and her unruly brood. Is he a man driven by the religious politics of the period? Or is he just a stone-cold killer? Meanwhile, what is the fate of Sir Robert's surly henchman Henry Dodd? Is his wife – the redoubtable Janet – now a childless widow? 'Chisholm displays a masterful hand ... A resoundingly satisfying conclusion and a terrific hook. I have never loved Sir Robert more' DANA STABENOW.

Outsmart Diabetes 1-2-3

A 3-Step Plan to Balance Sugar, Lose Weight, and Reverse Diabetes Complications
Author: Prevention Magazine Editors
Publisher: Rodale Books
ISBN: 1605294950
Category: Health & Fitness
Page: 352
View: 6154

Continue Reading →

For the more than 21 million Americans who currently suffer from diabetes, there simply is no other reference that can match the breadth and depth of expertise found here. To prepare this book, the editors of Prevention interviewed dozens of endocrinologists, nutritionists, exercise physiologists, and other health professionals who specialize in diabetes care. Tapping into the wisdom and advice of this "dream team" of diabetes professionals, they have put together an integrated plan of attack to fight the disease on every front. Unlike the vast majority of books on diabetes that zero in on a single component, Outsmart Diabetes 1-2-3 recognizes that diabetes is a multidimensional disease and therefore any effective management plan must take all contributing factors into account. The latest research shows that with a combination of targeted treatment strategies and sensible lifestyle changes, it is possible to slow—if not stop—diabetes-related decline. Outsmart Diabetes 1-2-3 distills the latest, cutting-edge information on every aspect of diabetes management into a comprehensive three-step program, with each step targeting a key component of optimal diabetes control: - Step 1—Treat and prevent diabetes complications - Step 2—Change the lifestyle factors that can compromise blood sugar balance - Step 3—Build a self-care regimen to safeguard against the disease's long-term effects With Outsmart Diabetes 1-2-3, readers have the knowledge and tools they need to get ahead of diabetes—and stay there for good.