Salt & Silver

Travel, Surf, Cook
Author: Johannes Riffelmacher,Thomas Kosikowski
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
ISBN: 1449479669
Category: Cooking
Page: 320
View: 602

Continue Reading →

Salt & Silver traces the journey of Johannes Riffelmacher and Thomas Kosikowski as they travel through Central and South America—reporting on all the best surfing locations, chronicling the stories of local surfers and restaurant owners, and compiling recipes representative of each area. The narrative begins in Cuba with beautiful images of the city and the beaches, as well as stories related to the Cuban surfing community and a discussion of popular Cuban dishes. Next is a tour of Mexico—first with street tacos, a trip through Mexican markets, and day spent in the urban graffitiscene of Guadalajara; then with Tostadas de Pulpo (Octopus Crackers), Shrimp and Portobello Burgers, and glimpse into small town life in the remote surfing town of San Pancho. The Mexican leg of the journey draws to a conclusion with 7-meter-waves, BBQ, and Tajine in Rio Nexpa, as well as “a perfect righthander barreling of a point” in the scenic La Ticla. After Mexico comes a long list of sites and sounds as the two men make their way through Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, Ecuador, Peru, and finally Chile, exploring the beaches and waves, as well as the kitchens of each location. Interspersed throughout the pages of the trip are more than 90 regional recipes, over 250 stunning photographs, and a wide array of tips and stories ranging from social commentary on the Cuban surf scene to pointers on how to rent a “Hamaquera” in La Ticla for $3 a night.

Salt and Silver


Author: Anna Katherine
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 9781429937481
Category: Fiction
Page: 368
View: 7626

Continue Reading →

When trust fund baby-turned-waitress Allie and her friends accidentally open a Door to Hell in the basement of Sally's Diner, they don't realize the havoc it will wreak on their Brooklyn neighborhood. Of course, the upside to murder-happy demons coming through the Door all the time is that Allie gets her own sexy and mysterious demon hunter: the dark-eyed, leather-clad, Stetson-wearing Ryan. Ryan teaches Allie everything he knows about fighting the creatures of the underworld—but refuses to give in to the sexual tension that simmers between them. Allie has almost given up on taking her relationship with Ryan to the next level when there's a surge in demonic activity... and the Door disappears. Now Allie and Ryan have to travel through Hell, literally, to try to stop Hell from taking over the Earth. They may not survive the trip, but Allie is about to discover something very important: Mortal peril is a total turn-on.

Silver and Salt


Author: Elanor Dymott
Publisher: W. W. Norton
ISBN: 9780393239768
Category:
Page: 336
View: 4618

Continue Reading →

A beautifully crafted novel about the tragic effects of a devastating childhood.

Salt and Silver

A Story of Hope
Author: Jim Greenhalf
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9780907734505
Category: Art museums
Page: 128
View: 4468

Continue Reading →

Copper and Silver Halates


Author: E.M. Woolley,H. Miyamoto,M. Salomon
Publisher: Elsevier
ISBN: 1483286053
Category: Science
Page: 246
View: 9228

Continue Reading →

Copper and Silver Halates is the third in a series of four volumes on inorganic metal halates. This volume presents critical evaluations and compilations for halate solubilities of the Group II metals. The solubility data included in this volume are those for the five compounds, copper chlorate and iodate, and silver chlorate, bromate and iodate.

Molten Salts Handbook


Author: George J. Janz
Publisher: Elsevier
ISBN: 0323144837
Category: Technology & Engineering
Page: 602
View: 4777

Continue Reading →

Molten Salts Handbook focuses on the features, properties, and structure of molten salts. This book presents several topics in annotated bibliographic table form, including phase equilibria, chemical syntheses, and molten salt electrolytes. Organized into six chapters, this book starts with a tabular presentation of data of the physical properties, thermodynamic properties, electrochemical properties, practical features, as well as spectroscopy and structure of molten salts. This text then illustrates the design features of different experimental assemblies and provides information on the technique through a liberally annotated bibliography. Other chapters provide a chemical index, which offers a ready guide to the status of data over the entire range of interests. This book presents as well the properties of viscosity, density, surface tension, refractive index, and electrical conductance for different compounds as single salt melts. This book is a valuable resource for scientists and researchers from diverse fields, including theoretical and applied electrochemistry, inorganic coordination chemistry, and transition metal chemistry.

Sulfites, Selenites & Tellurites


Author: M.R. Masson,H.D. Lutz,B. Engelen
Publisher: Elsevier
ISBN: 1483286436
Category: Science
Page: 476
View: 4767

Continue Reading →

This volume presents compilations and critical evaluations of reported solubility data for a wide range of compounds, including binary, ternary and more complex systems. The entire literature up to 1984 has been covered. Rigorous statistical procedures have been applied in the evaluations. For many of the ternary systems and some quaternary ones, computer-drawn phase diagrams are included (prepared to the same scale where possible to allow easy comparison).

Silver and Salt: A Novel


Author: Elanor Dymott
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 0393248720
Category: Fiction
Page: 336
View: 4264

Continue Reading →

A beautifully crafted novel about the tragic effects of a devastating childhood. “There was a child in our courtyard. I saw a child there, standing by the fountain. She was there, then she was gone.” On the death of the celebrated photographer Max Hollingbourne, his daughter, Ruthie, returns to his villa in Greece after fifteen years in exile. The youngest and estranged member of a once close-knit London family, Ruthie is haunted by a dark secret from her childhood, one that fractured her family and drove her mother to madness. Still, following her father’s death, she and her older sister, Vinny, manage to build a fragile happiness at the villa where they had spent their summers as girls. But the arrival of an English family at a neighboring cottage, and the presence of one young girl in particular, trigger a chain of events that will plunge both women back into their harrowing pasts with shocking and fatal consequences. Haunting, lyrical, and beautifully crafted, Silver and Salt is a profoundly moving novel about the consequences of love and betrayal.

Copper, Silver, Gold & Zinc, Cadmium, Mercury Oxides & Hydroxides


Author: T. P. Dirkse
Publisher: Elsevier
ISBN: 148328641X
Category: Science
Page: 381
View: 7859

Continue Reading →

Interest in the title compounds has fallen into three phases: initial study of their solution chemistry, study of their role in the electrode reactions of alkaline batteries during and since World War II, and present concern over the mechanisms by which these elements can enter the environment through dissolution processes, sometimes with toxic results. This volume provides a complete compilation of solubility data published up to 1984, including all pertinent articles, together with critical evaluations of the data. Almost all the measurements relate to aqueous systems.

The Rise and Fall of a Public Debt Market in 16th-Century China

The Story of the Ming Salt Certificate
Author: Wing-kin Puk
Publisher: Brill
ISBN: 9004306404
Category: History
Page: 210
View: 8844

Continue Reading →

In The Rise and Fall of a Public Debt Market in 16th-Century China, Wing-kin Puk explains the fate of Capitalism in late imperial China through the strange journey of a piece of paper: the Ming salt certificate.

Honey and Salt


Author: Carl Sandburg
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0544416937
Category: Poetry
Page: 132
View: 1684

Continue Reading →

A collection from the Pulitzer Prize–winning American poet with “a sharp lively wit and a tender approach to the human condition” (The Philadelphia Inquirer). Though he was also renowned as a biographer of Abraham Lincoln, Carl Sandburg was first and foremost a poet—upon his death, President Lyndon Johnson said “Carl Sandburg was more than the voice of America, more than the poet of its strength and genius. He was America.” In this outstanding collection of seventy-seven poems, Sandburg eloquently celebrates the themes that engaged him as a poet for more than half a century of writing—life, love, and death. Strongly lyrical, these intensely honest poems testify to human courage, frailty, and tenderness and to the enduring wonders of nature. “A poetic genius whose creative power has in no way lessened with the passing years.” —Chicago Tribune

Handbook of Preservatives


Author: Michael Ash,Irene Ash
Publisher: Synapse Info Resources
ISBN: 1890595667
Category: Health & Fitness
Page: 873
View: 2400

Continue Reading →

This handbook contains comprehensive information on more than 5000 trade names and generic chemicals and materials that are used in a broad range of formulations to prevent the contamination and decomposition of end products. Product degradation can be caused by exposure to oxygen, ozone, bacteria, molds, yeast, mildew, and fungi. The industries that depend on the proper selection of preserving chemicals and materials are diverse and include: plastics, elastomers, construction, paper/pulp, agriculture, textiles, paints and coatings, pharmaceutical, cosmetics, food, beverages.This handbook contains comprehensive information on a variety of preservatives available from major chemical manufacturers and can expedite the material selection process for chemists, formulators and purchasing agents by providing the answers to these questions:? Is the agent capable of inhibiting the detrimental effects of oxygen, ozone, or microbes to the extent necessary?? Is the agent's overall physical and chemical attributes compatible with the product or system being protected?? Can the agent remain stable under storage conditions and for the application requirements?? Is its safety in production and handling acceptable?? Does its level of toxicity meet environmental regulations?? Does it meet cost requirements?

Flint and Silver

A Prequel to Treasure Island
Author: John Drake
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 141659275X
Category: Fiction
Page: 359
View: 2809

Continue Reading →

A captivating and original prequel to "Treasure Island" that will delight fans of Robert Louis Stevenson's classic as well as fans of those "other" pirates of the Caribbean.

Silver in the Blood


Author: Jessica Day George
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
ISBN: 1619634317
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 368
View: 649

Continue Reading →

New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George brings dark secrets to life in a lush historical fantasy perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Cassandra Clare.

Placenta Accreta Syndrome


Author: Robert M. Silver
Publisher: CRC Press
ISBN: 1498746004
Category: Medical
Page: 156
View: 8142

Continue Reading →

Placenta accreta comprises a spectrum of disorders where all or part of the placenta becomes attached to the muscular wall of the uterus, which can result in life-threatening hemorrhage at the time of delivery. Previous surgical procedures (including cesarean delivery) and placenta previa are important risk factors, and the incidence is dramatically increasing. This important practical guide to how clinicians should diagnose and manage placenta accreta will be an invaluable reference for all obstetricians and maternal-fetal specialists.