Le Sacre du Printemps (The Rite of Spring)

Full Orchestra (Miniature Score)
Author: Igor Stravinsky
Publisher: Alfred Music
ISBN: 9781457468339
Category: Music
Page: 140
View: 9155

Continue Reading →

Expertly arranged Full Orchestra Miniature Score by Igor Stravinsky from the Kalmus Edition series. This is from the 20th Century era.

The Rite of Spring


Author: Igor Stravinsky
Publisher: Alfred Music
ISBN: 9781457487057
Category: Music
Page: 88
View: 9163

Continue Reading →

The Rite of Spring was commissioned as an orchestral work for a ballet and premiered in Paris in 1913. Differing views of both the music and choreography led to a riot by the audience. The piece is divided into two parts: "The Adoration of the Earth" and "The Exalted Sacrifice." Stravinsky's piece has many defining characteristics, such as its polytonalities, polyrhythms, ostinato layers, and dissonance. This piano reduction for one piano, four hands was written by Stravinsky.

Le sacre du printemps"

für Orchester
Author: Igor Stravinsky
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 0486258572
Category: Music
Page: 160
View: 688

Continue Reading →

Composed for Diaghilev's Ballets Russes, The Rite of Spring premiered in 1913 to a near-riot. The most famous musical work of the 20th century, this brilliant and uncompromising masterpiece changed the course of modern music. Nearly a century later, it remains in the repertoire of every large symphony orchestra.

The Rite of Spring at 100


Author: Severine Neff,Maureen Carr,Gretchen Horlacher
Publisher: Indiana University Press
ISBN: 0253024447
Category: Music
Page: 600
View: 8033

Continue Reading →

When Igor Stravinsky's ballet Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring) premiered during the 1913 Paris season of Sergei Diaghilev's Ballets Russes, its avant-garde music and jarring choreography scandalized audiences. Today it is considered one of the most influential musical works of the twentieth century. In this volume, the ballet finally receives the full critical attention it deserves, as distinguished music and dance scholars discuss the meaning of the work and its far-reaching influence on world music, performance, and culture. Essays explore four key facets of the ballet: its choreography and movement; the cultural and historical contexts of its performance and reception in France; its structure and use of innovative rhythmic and tonal features; and the reception of the work in Russian music history and theory. This version also includes audio and visual supplements designed to enhance understanding of this classic piece.

Nijinsky's Crime Against Grace

Reconstruction Score of the Original Choreography for Le Sacre Du Printemps
Author: Millicent Hodson
Publisher: Pendragon Press
ISBN: 9780945193432
Category: Music
Page: 205
View: 794

Continue Reading →

For more than seven decades historians have regarded Le Sacre du Printemps as the lost masterpiece of 20th-century choreography. Despite this reputation, until now no attempt was made to reconstruct the original dance, either during the lifetime of the choreographer or those of his collaborators... In his "crime against grace," Nijinsky stepped beyond the limits of classical tradition and identified himself with the concept of the modern artist as the deviant, always outside society. The price he paid for that persona was much higher than for most artists. The reasons why and how he bore the price helped explain why and how his masterpiece got lost. They also provided clues for how to find it." From the Preface Using a facsimile of the rehearsal piano score, Millicent Hodson relates steps and spatial figures to musical phrases indicating in detail the sources for her reconstruction.

Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring


Author: Peter Hill
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9780521627146
Category: Music
Page: 170
View: 2331

Continue Reading →

A comprehensive and highly readable guide to Stravinsky's most revolutionary work.

Musical Listening in the Age of Technological Reproduction


Author: Gianmario Borio
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 1317091442
Category: Music
Page: 430
View: 3575

Continue Reading →

It is undeniable that technology has made a tangible impact on the nature of musical listening. The new media have changed our relationship with music in a myriad of ways, not least because the experience of listening can now be prolonged at will and repeated at any time and in any space. Moreover, among the more striking social phenomena ushered in by the technological revolution, one cannot fail to mention music’s current status as a commodity and popular music’s unprecedented global reach. In response to these new social and perceptual conditions, the act of listening has diversified into a wide range of patterns of behaviour which seem to resist any attempt at unification. Concentrated listening, the form of musical reception fostered by Western art music, now appears to be but one of the many ways in which audiences respond to organized sound. Cinema, for example, has developed specific ways of combining images and sounds; and, more recently, digital technology has redefined the standard forms of mass communication. Information is aestheticized, and music in turn is incorporated into pre-existing symbolic fields. This volume - the first in the series Musical Cultures of the Twentieth Century - offers a wide-ranging exploration of the relations between sound, technology and listening practices, considered from the complementary perspectives of art music and popular music, music theatre and multimedia, composition and performance, ethnographic and anthropological research.

The Rest Is Noise

Listening to the Twentieth Century
Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN: 9781429932882
Category: History
Page: 640
View: 3313

Continue Reading →

The scandal over modern music has not died down. While paintings by Pablo Picasso and Jackson Pollock sell for a hundred million dollars or more, shocking musical works from Stravinsky's Rite of Spring onward still send ripples of unease through audiences. At the same time, the influence of modern music can be felt everywhere. Avant-garde sounds populate the soundtracks of Hollywood thrillers. Minimalist music has had a huge effect on rock, pop, and dance music from the Velvet Underground onward. Alex Ross, the brilliant music critic for The New Yorker, shines a bright light on this secret world, and shows how it has pervaded every corner of twentieth century life. The Rest Is Noise takes the reader inside the labyrinth of modern sound. It tells of maverick personalities who have resisted the cult of the classical past, struggled against the indifference of a wide public, and defied the will of dictators. Whether they have charmed audiences with the purest beauty or battered them with the purest noise, composers have always been exuberantly of the present, defying the stereotype of classical music as a dying art. Ross, in this sweeping and dramatic narrative, takes us from Vienna before the First World War to Paris in the twenties, from Hitler's Germany and Stalin's Russia to downtown New York in the sixties and seventies. We follow the rise of mass culture and mass politics, of dramatic new technologies, of hot and cold wars, of experiments, revolutions, riots, and friendships forged and broken. In the tradition of Simon Schama's The Embarrassment of Riches and Louis Menand's The Metaphysical Club, the end result is not so much a history of twentieth-century music as a history of the twentieth century through its music.

The Apollonian Clockwork

On Stravinsky
Author: Louis Andriessen,Elmer Schönberger
Publisher: Amsterdam University Press
ISBN: 9053568565
Category: Music
Page: 294
View: 7063

Continue Reading →

The one book about Stravinsky Stravinsky would have liked. Richard Taruskin.

The Firebird in Full Score (Original 1910 Version)


Author: Igor Stravinsky
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 0486172317
Category: Music
Page: 176
View: 4951

Continue Reading →

Handsome, unabridged, inexpensive edition of modern masterpiece renowned for brilliant orchestration, glowing color, evocative power. Includes list of characters and instruments, plus new English translation of Table of Contents.

Expositions and Developments


Author: Igor Stravinsky,Robert Craft
Publisher: Univ of California Press
ISBN: 9780520044036
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 168
View: 3784

Continue Reading →

A Night at the Majestic

Proust and the Great Modernist Dinner Party of 1922
Author: Richard Peter Treadwell Davenport-Hines
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9780571220083
Category: Artists
Page: 358
View: 9808

Continue Reading →

On a night in May 1922, five of the greatest artists of the 20th century sat down to supper: Marcel Proust, James Joyce, Pablo Picasso, Serge Diaghilev and Igor Stravinsky.

Dinner with Lenny

The Last Long Interview with Leonard Bernstein
Author: Jonathan Cott
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 0199858446
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 183
View: 1527

Continue Reading →

Features a complete account of the author's twelve-hour interview with Bernstein one year before the classical music personality's death in 1990.

Diaghilev's Ballets Russes


Author: Lynn Garafola
Publisher: Da Capo
ISBN: 9780306808784
Category: Music
Page: 524
View: 9781

Continue Reading →

In the history of twentieth-century ballet, no company has had so profound and far-reaching an influence as the Ballets Russes. Under the direction of impresario extraordinaire Serge Diaghilev (1872–1929), the Ballets Russes radically transformed the nature of ballet—its subject matter, movement idiom, choreographic style, stage space, music, scenic design, costume, even the dancer's physical appearance. From 1909 to 1929, it nurtured some of the greatest choreographers in dance history—Fokine, Nijinsky, Massine, and Balanchine—and created such classics as Les Sylphides, Firebird, Petrouchka, L'Après-midi d'un Faune, Les Noces, and Apollo. Diaghilev brought together some of the leading artists of his time, including composers Stravinsky, Debussy, and Prokofiev; artists Picasso, Braque, and Matisse, and poets Hoffmansthal and Cocteau. Diaghilev's Ballets Russes is the most authoritative history of the company ever written and the first to examine it as a totality—its art, enterprise, and audience. Combining social and cultural history with illuminating discussions of dance, drama, music, art, economics, and public reception, Lynn Garafola paints an extraordinary portrait of the company that shaped ballet into what it is today.

Peer Gynt

suites no. 1 (op. 46) and no. 2 (op. 55)
Author: Edvard Grieg,Hans-Günter Heumann,Brigitte Smith
Publisher: Schott & Company Limited
ISBN: 9783795755072
Category: Music
Page: 32
View: 1312

Continue Reading →

(Schott). Beautifully illustrated luxury edition with color drawings and intermediate piano arrangements.

The Lost Rite


Author: Millicent Hodson and
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9781367468528
Category:
Page: N.A
View: 5615

Continue Reading →

The story of how the legendary lost ballet, The Rite of Spring (Le Sacre du Printemps) was recreated by Millicent Hodson and Kenneth Archer, including a Spectator's Guide with stop-frame photographs by Shira Klasmer of the Polish National Ballet on stage, together with quotes by observers from the time so that readers can 'see' the ballet as they 'hear' the voices of 1913.

Library of Congress Catalog

Music and phonorecords
Author: Library of Congress
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Music
Page: N.A
View: 1073

Continue Reading →

A cumulative list of works represented by Library of Congress printed cards.