The Lost for Words Bookshop

A Novel
Author: Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
ISBN: 1250124549
Category: Fiction
Page: 304
View: 5799

Continue Reading →

The Lost for Words Bookshop by Stephanie Butland is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending novel, perfect for all book lovers. "In The Lost for Words Bookshop, Stephanie Butland has created a bibliophile's delight. Witty and irreverent, funny and sad, this is a charming tribute to stories on the page and in our lives--and the powers they can hold over us."—Matthew Sullivan author of Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore "Burns fiercely with love and hurt. A rare and beautiful novel."—Linda Green, bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never, ever show you. Into her hiding place - the bookstore where she works - come a poet, a lover, and three suspicious deliveries. Someone has found out about her mysterious past. Will Loveday survive her own heartbreaking secrets?

The Keeper of Lost Things

A Novel
Author: Ruth Hogan
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 0062473573
Category: Fiction
Page: 288
View: 6545

Continue Reading →

A charming, clever, and quietly moving debut novel of of endless possibilities and joyful discoveries that explores the promises we make and break, losing and finding ourselves, the objects that hold magic and meaning for our lives, and the surprising connections that bind us. Lime green plastic flower-shaped hair bobbles—Found, on the playing field, Derrywood Park, 2nd September. Bone china cup and saucer—Found, on a bench in Riveria Public Gardens, 31st October. Anthony Peardew is the keeper of lost things. Forty years ago, he carelessly lost a keepsake from his beloved fiancée, Therese. That very same day, she died unexpectedly. Brokenhearted, Anthony sought consolation in rescuing lost objects—the things others have dropped, misplaced, or accidently left behind—and writing stories about them. Now, in the twilight of his life, Anthony worries that he has not fully discharged his duty to reconcile all the lost things with their owners. As the end nears, he bequeaths his secret life’s mission to his unsuspecting assistant, Laura, leaving her his house and and all its lost treasures, including an irritable ghost. Recovering from a bad divorce, Laura, in some ways, is one of Anthony’s lost things. But when the lonely woman moves into his mansion, her life begins to change. She finds a new friend in the neighbor’s quirky daughter, Sunshine, and a welcome distraction in Freddy, the rugged gardener. As the dark cloud engulfing her lifts, Laura, accompanied by her new companions, sets out to realize Anthony’s last wish: reuniting his cherished lost objects with their owners. Long ago, Eunice found a trinket on the London pavement and kept it through the years. Now, with her own end drawing near, she has lost something precious—a tragic twist of fate that forces her to break a promise she once made. As the Keeper of Lost Objects, Laura holds the key to Anthony and Eunice’s redemption. But can she unlock the past and make the connections that will lay their spirits to rest? Full of character, wit, and wisdom, The Keeper of Lost Things is heartwarming tale that will enchant fans of The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, Garden Spells, Mrs Queen Takes the Train, and The Silver Linings Playbook.

Keeper of the Lost Cities


Author: Shannon Messenger
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 1442445947
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 488
View: 7305

Continue Reading →

At age twelve, Sophie learns that the remarkable abilities that have always caused her to stand out identify her as an elf, and after being brought to Eternalia to hone her skills, discovers that she has secrets buried in her memory for which some would kill.

The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae


Author: Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
ISBN: 1785764411
Category: Fiction
Page: 400
View: 3041

Continue Reading →

If you loved LOST FOR WORDS, ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE and THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS you'll love this. 'I love it so much. Moving, funny, romantic. Utterly engaging . . . impossible to put down' Katie Fforde Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She's only a few months past the heart transplant that - just in time - saved her life. Life should be a joyful adventure. But . . . Her relationship with her mother is at breaking point and she wants to find her father. Have her friends left her behind? And she's felt so helpless for so long that she's let polls on her blog make her decisions for her. She barely knows where to start on her own. Then there's Lennox. Her best friend and one time lover. He was sick too. He didn't make it. And now she's supposed to face all of this without him. But her new heart is a bold heart. She just needs to learn to listen to it . . . Have you read LOST FOR WORDS, which readers are calling 'the best book of 2017'? Search 9781785762604.

The Particular Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes


Author: Ruth Hogan
Publisher: Two Roads
ISBN: 9781473669000
Category: Fiction
Page: 352
View: 4806

Continue Reading →

Loved Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things? Keep on reading... Masha is drowning. Once a spirited, independent woman with a rebellious streak, her life has been forever changed by a tragic event twelve years ago. Unable to let go of her grief, she finds solace in the silent company of the souls of her local Victorian cemetery and at the town's lido, where she seeks refuge underwater - safe from the noise and the pain. But a chance encounter with two extraordinary women - the fabulous and wise Kitty Muriel, a convent girl-turned-magician's wife-turned-seventy-something-roller-disco-fanatic, and the mysterious Sally Red Shoes, a bag lady with a prodigious voice - opens up a new world of possibilities, and the chance to start living again. Until the fateful day when the past comes roaring back... In the vein of her bestselling debut The Keeper of Lost Things, Ruth Hogan's second novel introduces a new cast of wonderful characters, both ordinary and charmingly eccentric, who guide us through a moving exploration of the simple human connections that make life worth living. Praise for The Keeper of Lost Things, a Richard & Judy Book Club pick 2017 'This is the first book I read in 2017 - and if another as good comes along in the next 12 months, I'll eat my special gold reviewing spectacles' Daily Mail 'A gem' Huffington Post 'Exquisite' The Lady 'Delightful' Helen Simonson, author of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand

Legend of the Book Keeper


Author: Daniel Blackaby
Publisher: Elevate Publishing
ISBN: 1937498050
Category: Fiction
Page: 414
View: 4606

Continue Reading →

The Most Ordinary of Boys... The Most Extraordinary of Books... When the two collide, a destiny is set into motion which cannot be undone. Without warning, a secretive cult emerges ready to kill, and a horrifying Beast appears in the dead of night - craving to devour the Keeper of the Book. Suddenly, Cody Clemenson is forced to flee with his best friend Jade. Their journey will lead them to mystical locations and thrust them into uncharted lands, where an ancient feud between two long-lost cities is teetering on the brink of war. Will Cody rise to the occasion and become the hero he's always dreamt of being? Or will he succumb to the power of the evil empire? The fate of the world now hinges on him - and the cryptic words written in a simple, leather Book... A Power Long Maintained - Now Faded, A Secret Long Kept - Soon Unveiled, A City Long Lost - Ready to Be Found.

The Choice

Embrace the Possible
Author: Edith Eva Eger
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 1501130811
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 304
View: 9126

Continue Reading →

Winner of the 2017 National Jewish Book Award and 2018 Christopher Award “Edith’s strength and courage are remarkable…her life and work are an incredible example of forgiveness, resilience, and generosity.”—Sheryl Sandberg It’s 1944 and sixteen-year-old ballerina and gymnast Edith Eger is sent to Auschwitz. Separated from her parents on arrival, she endures unimaginable experiences, including being made to dance for the infamous Josef Mengele. When the camp is finally liberated, she is pulled from a pile of bodies, barely alive. The horrors of the Holocaust didn’t break Edith. In fact, they helped her learn to live again with a life-affirming strength and a truly remarkable resilience. The Choice is her unforgettable story.

The Keeper of Lost Causes

A Department Q Novel
Author: Jussi Adler-Olsen
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 0452297907
Category: Fiction
Page: 407
View: 6019

Continue Reading →

Chief detective Carl M²rck, recovering from what he thought was a career-destroying gunshot wound, is relegated to cold cases and becomes immersed in the five-year disappearance of a politician.

Neverseen


Author: Shannon Messenger
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 148143229X
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 688
View: 9662

Continue Reading →

Sophie battles the rebels -- and recovers dark memories from her past -- in this jaw-dropping fourth book in the bestselling Keeper of the Lost Cities series.

I Have Lost My Way


Author: Gayle Forman
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 0425290794
Category: Young Adult Fiction
Page: 272
View: 6788

Continue Reading →

A powerful story of empathy and friendship from the #1 New York Times Bestselling author of If I Stay. Around the time that Freya loses her voice while recording her debut album, Harun is making plans to run away from everyone he has ever loved, and Nathaniel is arriving in New York City with a backpack, a desperate plan, and nothing left to lose. When a fateful accident draws these three strangers together, their secrets start to unravel as they begin to understand that the way out of their own loss might just lie in help­ing the others out of theirs. An emotionally cathartic story of losing love, finding love, and dis­covering the person you are meant to be, I Have Lost My Way is best­selling author Gayle Forman at her finest.

The City of Lost Fortunes


Author: Bryan Camp
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 132881081X
Category: Fiction
Page: 352
View: 7839

Continue Reading →

The fate of New Orleans rests in the hands of a wayward grifter in this novel of gods, games, and monsters. The post–Katrina New Orleans of The City of Lost Fortunes is a place haunted by its history and by the hurricane’s destruction, a place that is hoping to survive the rebuilding of its present long enough to ensure that it has a future. Street magician Jude Dubuisson is likewise burdened by his past and by the consequences of the storm, because he has a secret: the magical ability to find lost things, a gift passed down to him by the father he has never known—a father who just happens to be more than human. Jude has been lying low since the storm, which caused so many things to be lost that it played havoc with his magic, and he is hiding from his own power, his divine former employer, and a debt owed to the Fortune god of New Orleans. But his six-year retirement ends abruptly when the Fortune god is murdered and Jude is drawn back into the world he tried so desperately to leave behind. A world full of magic, monsters, and miracles. A world where he must find out who is responsible for the Fortune god’s death, uncover the plot that threatens the city’s soul, and discover what his talent for lost things has always been trying to show him: what it means to be his father’s son.

Lodestar


Author: Shannon Messenger
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 1481474960
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 704
View: 6745

Continue Reading →

Betrayed by one of their closest allies, Sophie's whole world has been turned inside out. The battles are shaping up and the stakes have never been higher in this fifth installment of the bestselling series. 5 1/8 x 7 5/8.

Lost Rights

The Misadventures of a Stolen American Relic
Author: David Howard
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 054748710X
Category: History
Page: 352
View: 8003

Continue Reading →

Near the close of the Civil War, as General Sherman blazed his path to the sea, an unknown infantryman rifled through the North Carolina state house.The soldier was hunting for simple Confederate mementos—maps, flags, official correspondence—but he wound up discovering something far more valuable. He headed home to Ohio with one of the touchstones of our republic: one of the fourteen original copies of the Bill of Rights. Lost Rights follows that document’s singular passage over the course of 138 years, beginning with the Indiana businessman who purchased the looted parchment for five dollars, then wending its way through the exclusive and shadowy world of high-end antiquities—a world populated by obsessive archivists, oddball collectors, forgers, and thieves— and ending dramatically with the FBI sting that brought the parchment back into the hands of the government. For fans of The Billionaire’s Vinegar and The Lost Painting, Lost Rights is “a tour de force of antiquarian sleuthing” (Hampton Sides).

Lost Connections

Uncovering the Real Causes of Depression � and the Unexpected Solutions
Author: Johann Hari
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
ISBN: 163286830X
Category: Self-Help
Page: 336
View: 7592

Continue Reading →

From the New York Times bestselling author of Chasing the Scream: The First and Last Days of the War on Drugs, a radical new way of thinking about depression and anxiety.

The Dream Keeper


Author: Mikey Brooks
Publisher: Lost Treasure Publishing
ISBN: 9781939993014
Category:
Page: 302
View: 9952

Continue Reading →

Dreams: Dorothy called it Oz, Alice called it Wonderland, but Nightmares call it HOME. When an evil shifter takes over the gateway to the realm of Dreams, it falls to 14-year-olds Parker and Kaelyn to stop him. Their only hope lies with Gladamyr, the Dream Keeper, but can they trust a Nightmare to save their world? THE DREAM KEEPER is an upper middle-grade fantasy-adventure that will keep you turning the pages. "The Dream Keeper is a fun, fantastic ride through both Dream and Nightmare. Brooks has written a book that can be enjoyed by young and old alike. Bravo " -Michaelbrent Collings, bestselling author of The Billy Saga and Hooked: A True Faerie Tale "This really is a cracking novel. Action-packed and spellbinding "-Cas Peace, author of The Artisans of Albia series. "If you like the Percy Jackson, Fablehaven, or the Harry Potter series, you'll love this " -Brooklyn

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

The new novel from the author of The Keeper of Lost Things
Author: Ruth Hogan
Publisher: Two Roads
ISBN: 1473669022
Category: Fiction
Page: 352
View: 5844

Continue Reading →

Loved Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things? Keep on reading... 'Warm and wise' Guardian 'A book to really love ... makes reading a joy' Stylist 'Will soften even the hardest of hearts' Red 'Subtle and poignant' Good Housekeeping 'Plenty of spirit and heart' Daily Mail 'An adorable heartfelt story' Prima 'Filled with hope and the power of friendship' Evening Standard 'A whimsical, wistful affair' Sunday Express 'A wrenching story of recovery' Metro Once a spirited, independent woman with a rebellious streak, Masha's life has been forever changed by a tragic event twelve years ago. Unable to let go of her grief, she finds comfort in her faithful canine companion Haizum, and peace in the quiet lanes of her town's lido. Then a chance encounter with two extraordinary women - the fabulous and wise Kitty Muriel, a convent girl turned magician's wife turned seventy-something roller disco fanatic, and the mysterious Sally Red Shoes, a bag lady with a prodigious voice - opens up a new world of possibilities, and the chance to start living again. But just as Masha dares to imagine the future, her past comes roaring back ... Like her bestselling debut, The Keeper of Lost Things, Ruth Hogan's second novel introduces a cast of wonderful characters, both ordinary and charmingly eccentric, who lead us through a moving exploration of the joy of friendship and the simple human connections that make life worth living. Praise for The Keeper of Lost Things, a Richard & Judy Book Club pick 2017 Winner of the Richard & Judy Readers' Award 2017 'A gem' Huffington Post 'Exquisite' The Lady 'Delightful' Helen Simonson, author of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand

Everblaze


Author: Shannon Messenger
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 1442446005
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 640
View: 7691

Continue Reading →

Sophie's talents are getting stronger and, with the elusive Black Swan group ignoring her calls for help, she is determined to find her kidnappers but a daring mistake pushes her world to the edge of war, and soon she has exposed a a major conspiracy that could threaten all she loves.

Keeper of the Night


Author: Kimberly Willis Holt
Publisher: Henry Holt and Company (BYR)
ISBN: 1429935898
Category: Young Adult Fiction
Page: 320
View: 1505

Continue Reading →

A powerful new novel from the award-winning author of When Zachary Beaver Came to Town. Isabel's mother died peacefully. At least that's what Isabel likes to think since no one will talk about the truth. But the truth has a way of revealing itself at night. Ta`Ta sleeps curled up on the floor right where Mama's body was found. Olivia wets her bed and wakes repeatedly from nightmares, and Frank starts carving his anger into his bedroom wall. It's up to Isabel to help her family get beyond the pain and loss—to be the keeper of the night. But who will be there for Isabel and help her through to the other side? Set on the lush island of Guam, Kimberly Willis Holt has written a painfully beautiful story about a young woman's struggle to protect her family after suicide hits home.

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane


Author: Kate DiCamillo,Bagram Ibatoulline
Publisher: Candlewick Press
ISBN: 076364367X
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 210
View: 5986

Continue Reading →

Edward Tulane, a cold-hearted and proud toy rabbit, loves only himself until he is separated from the little girl who adores him and travels across the country, acquiring new owners and listening to their hopes, dreams, and histories. Jr Lib Guild. Teacher's Guide available. Reprint.

A Girl of the Limberlost


Author: Gene Stratton-Porter
Publisher: Applewood Books
ISBN: 1557092923
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 352
View: 6811

Continue Reading →

Deeply wounded by her embittered mother's lack of sympathy for her aspirations, Elnora finds comfort in the nearby Limberlost Swamp, whose beauty and rich abundance provide her with the means to better her life.