The Lost for Words Bookshop

A Novel
Author: Stephanie Butland
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: 1250124549
Category: Fiction
Page: 304
View: 1172

Continue Reading →

The Lost for Words Bookshop by Stephanie Butland is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending novel, perfect for all book lovers. "In The Lost for Words Bookshop, Stephanie Butland has created a bibliophile's delight. Witty and irreverent, funny and sad, this is a charming tribute to stories on the page and in our lives--and the powers they can hold over us."—Matthew Sullivan author of Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore "Burns fiercely with love and hurt. A rare and beautiful novel."—Linda Green, bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never, ever show you. Into her hiding place - the bookstore where she works - come a poet, a lover, and three suspicious deliveries. Someone has found out about her mysterious past. Will Loveday survive her own heartbreaking secrets?

Ich treffe dich zwischen den Zeilen

Roman
Author: Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Knaur eBook
ISBN: 3426442884
Category: Fiction
Page: 320
View: 3217

Continue Reading →

Ein Buch, das einen so schnell nicht mehr loslässt: Stephanie Butlands herzergreifender Roman erzählt vom Wunder der Liebe und von der heilenden Kraft der Literatur. Mit Piercings und tiefschwarz gefärbten Haaren versucht Loveday, die Welt von sich fern zu halten. Sie ist ein wahrer Büchernarr, umgibt sich lieber mit Literatur als mit Menschen und trägt die Anfangssätze ihrer Lieblingsromane als Tattoos auf dem Körper. Wirklich wohl fühlt sie sich nur in Archies Antiquariat. Der alte Mann hat ihr nicht nur einen Job gegeben, er akzeptiert sie vor allem, ohne Fragen zu stellen. Als Loveday Nathan kennenlernt, scheint ihre Welt heller zu werden: Er nimmt sie mit zu einem Poetry-Slam, und die Gedichte öffnen beiden einen Weg, sich die Dinge mitzuteilen, für die ihnen sonst die Worte fehlen. Zwischen den beiden entwickelt sich eine zarte Liebe. Doch dann werden im Antiquariat Bücher für Loveday abgegeben, die sie zurück in ihre Kindheit führen und schmerzhafte Erinnerungen an eine Familientragödie wecken, die sie nur zu gerne weiter verdrängt hätte. Kann sie mit Archies und Nathans Hilfe endlich mit der Vergangenheit Frieden schließen und über die Ereignisse hinwegkommen, die ihr Leben so sehr erschüttert haben? Ein wunderschöner Roman über Familie, Liebe, Verlust und Vergangenheitsbewältigung mithilfe der besonderen Kraft der Literatur.

Mr. Peardews Sammlung der verlorenen Dinge

Roman
Author: Ruth Hogan
Publisher: Ullstein Buchverlage
ISBN: 3843714703
Category: Fiction
Page: 320
View: 3111

Continue Reading →

Charmant, außergewöhnlich und liebenswert. Machen Sie sich mit Mr. Peardew auf die Suche nach verlorenen Dingen. Jeder Gegenstand, den Anthony Peardew auf der Straße findet, hat eine Geschichte. Er sammelt und archiviert sie alle in seinem gediegenen viktorianischen Haus und plant, sie eines Tages an ihre ursprünglichen Besitzer zurückzugeben. Denn er selbst sieht sich nur als Hüter der verlorenen Dinge. Vor Jahren hat er selbst etwas verloren, das er seitdem auf seinen Streifzügen sucht: ein Schmuckstück. Es gehörte seiner großen Liebe, und das Medaillon verbindet sie noch immer mit ihm. Anthony muss diese besondere Aufgabe jedoch an seine Erbin Laura weitergeben, ohne ihr von dem großen Geheimnis erzählt zu haben, das seine Sammlung umgibt.

The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae


Author: Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
ISBN: 1785764411
Category: Fiction
Page: 400
View: 3029

Continue Reading →

If you loved LOST FOR WORDS, ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE and THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS you'll love this. 'I love it so much. Moving, funny, romantic. Utterly engaging . . . impossible to put down' Katie Fforde Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She's only a few months past the heart transplant that - just in time - saved her life. Life should be a joyful adventure. But . . . Her relationship with her mother is at breaking point and she wants to find her father. Have her friends left her behind? And she's felt so helpless for so long that she's let polls on her blog make her decisions for her. She barely knows where to start on her own. Then there's Lennox. Her best friend and one time lover. He was sick too. He didn't make it. And now she's supposed to face all of this without him. But her new heart is a bold heart. She just needs to learn to listen to it . . . Have you read LOST FOR WORDS, which readers are calling 'the best book of 2017'? Search 9781785762604.

The Keeper of Lost Things

winner of the Richard & Judy Readers' Award and Sunday Times bestseller
Author: Ruth Hogan
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 1473635497
Category: Fiction
Page: 352
View: 2816

Continue Reading →

WINNER OF RICHARD AND JUDY AUTUMN BOOK CLUB 2017 - 'One of the most charming novels either of us has read. Don't lose it. Keep it' Richard & Judy* *The perfect holiday read, recommended by thousands of readers* *One of the Mail on Sunday's 'Best books for the beach this summer'* Meet the 'Keeper of Lost Things'... Once a celebrated author of short stories now in his twilight years, Anthony Peardew has spent half his life collecting lost objects, trying to atone for a promise broken many years before. Realising he is running out of time, he leaves his house and all its lost treasures to his assistant Laura, the one person he can trust to fulfil his legacy and reunite the thousands of objects with their rightful owners. But the final wishes of the 'Keeper of Lost Things' have unforeseen repercussions which trigger a most serendipitous series of encounters... 'The first book I read in 2017 - and if another as good comes along in the next 12 months, I'll eat my special gold reviewing spectacles' Daily Mail And if you loved The Keeper of Lost Things, don't miss Ruth Hogan's second novel The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes, which is out now

The Keeper of Lost Things


Author: Jamie Campbell
Publisher: Jamie Campbell
ISBN: N.A
Category: Young Adult Fiction
Page: 300
View: 4584

Continue Reading →

Someone lost her a long time ago. Do you ever wonder what happens to all the things that are lost? Em Gabrielle does. Not only does she think about it, it is her obsession. Finding and rescuing objects everyone else loses is the only thing keeping the sixteen year old going. When the father that walked out on her ten years earlier is suddenly reported missing, Em tries to resist the urge to find him. After all, he is just another lost thing, right? As she delves deeper and deeper into the case, she quickly works out that the stakes in this case are higher than ever. Finding the lost thing has never been so personal or difficult before. If Em finds her father, does that mean she can be found too? In the first of the Keeper Series, meet the first of the damaged residents of Lakeside. You might never think the same way about things again. Also in the Keeper Series: The Keeper of Lost Things The Keeper of Secret Things The Keeper of Broken Things

Immer wieder du und ich


Author: Juliet Ashton
Publisher: Rowohlt Verlag GmbH
ISBN: 3644552916
Category: Fiction
Page: 400
View: 898

Continue Reading →

Ein Roman über die Liebe. Über die kleinen und großen Abenteuer des Lebens. Und über zwei, die sich lieben, aber immer wieder verpassen. Kate liebt Charlie. Charlie liebt Kate. Das war schon immer so. Sie sind füreinander geschaffen. Aber es ist kompliziert: Denn stets ist Charlie gerade vergeben, wenn Kate bereit ist. Und umgekehrt. Immer wieder kreuzen sich ihre Wege, auf Partys, Hochzeiten und Beerdigungen. Vergessen können Kate und Charlie einander nicht. Aber ist es nicht irgendwann zu spät für die große Liebe? Oder bietet ihnen das Leben noch eine zweite Chance? Nach dem großen Erfolg von «Ein letzter Brief von dir» der neue, berührende Roman von Juliet Ashton

Proverbs and Song of Solomon


Author: H. A. Ironside
Publisher: Kregel Academic
ISBN: 0825497396
Category: Religion
Page: 358
View: 922

Continue Reading →

This classic commentary series from one of the most creative and articulate expositors of the twentieth century is being reissued for a new generation.

The Author of Love

Understanding a Misunderstood God
Author: Joc Anderson, PsyD.
Publisher: WestBowPress
ISBN: 144970803X
Category: Religion
Page: 384
View: 1326

Continue Reading →

Throughout history, God has been depicted variously as a judgmental tyrant, a grand conciliator, and even as a rather low-key comic, portrayed by the cigar-smoking George Burns in the movie “Oh God!” The question that’s begging to be answered is: Who is God? This devotional evolved out of one person’s desire to portray God in a truer light. In the Book of Job, God reprimanded Job’s friends for failing to speak truthfully about Him. They misrepresented His character. Job, on the other hand, understood His Maker and was, therefore, the single voice of truth in an otherwise corrupt world. Can you honestly say that you know your Creator? Can you speak truthfully about Him? This devotional will help you get to know the real God, who is neither the judgmental tyrant nor the light-weight movie character. He is, if nothing else, a God of love and compassion. At the conclusion of your devotionals, I have formulated a “Love Quotient” (L.Q.) test to measure the depth of your love. The questions are designed to be thought-provoking and insightful. You may also find them a bit daunting and uncomfortable. Answer each question according to your beliefs. There are no wrong or right answers. It is my hope you’ll find this little exercise revealing and instructive of how you love. The answers and Key is also included. Your heart is what you’re all about. May you understand God’s love for you.

Ich, Eleanor Oliphant

Roman
Author: Gail Honeyman
Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE
ISBN: 3732539695
Category: Fiction
Page: 525
View: 2637

Continue Reading →

Wie Eleanor Oliphant die Liebe suchte und sich selbst dabei fand Eleanor Oliphant ist anders als andere Menschen. Eine Pizza bestellen, mit Freunden einen schönen Tag verbringen, einfach so in den Pub gehen? Für Eleanor undenkbar! Und das macht ihr Leben auf Dauer unerträglich einsam. Erst als sie sich verliebt, wagt sie sich zaghaft aus ihrem Schneckenhaus - und lernt dabei nicht nur die Welt, sondern auch sich selbst noch einmal neu kennen. Mit ihrem Debüt "Ich, Eleanor Oliphant" ist Gail Honeyman ein anrührender Roman mit einer unvergesslichen Hauptfigur gelungen. Ihre erfrischend schräge Sicht auf die Dinge zeigt uns, was im Leben wirklich zählt. Liebe. Hoffung. Ehrlichkeit. Und vor allen Dingen die Freundschaft. "Absolut mitreißend." Jojo Moyes

Die Nachtigall

Roman
Author: Kristin Hannah
Publisher: Aufbau Digital
ISBN: 3841211267
Category: Fiction
Page: 608
View: 2157

Continue Reading →

Zwei Schwestern. Die eine kämpft für die Freiheit. Die andere für die Liebe. Der Weltbestseller – die Nr. 1 aus den USA. Zwei Schwestern im von den Deutschen besetzten Frankreich: Während Vianne ums Überleben ihrer Familie kämpft, schließt sich die jüngere Isabelle der Résistance an und sucht die Freiheit auf dem Pfad der Nachtigall, einem geheimen Fluchtweg über die Pyrenäen. Doch wie weit darf man gehen, um zu überleben? Und wie kann man die schützen, die man liebt? In diesem epischen, kraftvollen und zutiefst berührenden Roman erzählt Kristin Hannah die Geschichte zweier Frauen, die ihr Schicksal auf ganz eigene Weise meistern. In den USA begeisterte „Die Nachtigall“ Millionen von Lesern und steht seit über einem Jahr auf der Bestsellerliste. „Ich liebe dieses Buch – große Charaktere, große Geschichten, große Gefühle." Isabel Allende.

Morning by Morning for Graduates


Author: Charles Haddon Spurgeon
Publisher: Hendrickson Publishers
ISBN: 1598566857
Category: Religion
Page: 384
View: 4650

Continue Reading →

Spurgeon has penned meditations, expressed simply but eloquently, that continue to draw readers to faith and obedience. This edition of his classic daily devotional is targeted specifically to students and graduates, who will appreciate his wise and timeless counsel. Special Features - A new topical index helps readers discover Spurgeon's thoughts on various topics important to Christian life. - An index of texts lets readers find what Spurgeon had to say about a particular Bible verse.

Der große Trip

Tausend Meilen durch die Wildnis zu mir selbst
Author: Cheryl Strayed
Publisher: Kailash Verlag
ISBN: 3641046025
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 448
View: 4406

Continue Reading →

EAT, PRAY, LOVE meets Hape Kerkeling Gerade 26 geworden, hat Cheryl Strayed das Gefühl, alles verloren zu haben. Drogen und Männer trösten sie über den Tod ihrer Mutter und das Scheitern ihrer Ehe hinweg. Als ihr ein Outdoor-Führer über den Pacific Crest Trail in die Hände fällt, trifft sie die folgenreichste Entscheidung ihres Lebens: mehr als tausend Meilen zu wandern. Die berührende Geschichte einer Selbstfindung – voller Witz, Weisheit und Intensität, mit einer respektlosen Heldin, die man lieben muss.

The Seed Gatherers


Author: Inge Meldgaard
Publisher: Inge Meldgaard
ISBN: N.A
Category: Fiction
Page: 321
View: 6505

Continue Reading →

In the year 2457, in the Dandenong Ranges, on the outskirts of Melbourne, Australia, a crime is committed by two young Norwegians that affects the entire community. If caught, Yngwie and his friend Torleif, who are expert communication systems hackers, must answer to the Federation Special Investigation Unit. Others use the event as inspiration, plunging the forests and its people into chaos. The lives of scientists, forest guardians and seed gatherers are placed at risk, as are their cats – remarkable creatures bred in special centres and able to influence human emotions. Meanwhile, a new and intriguing forest inhabitant is discovered and those who know of its existence must decide whether to reveal its secret. In this third book of the series, that began with ‘The Cicada’, followed by ‘A Death In The Making’, the story gradually links back to earlier, unresolved questions and continues to explore the relationship between the main characters and their feline companions.