Lost For Words

A perfect feel-good read - 'A book lover's dream'
Author: Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Ullstein Buchverlage
ISBN: 1785762605
Category: Poetry
Page: 368
View: 7225

Continue Reading →

Lost for Words is a compelling, irresistible and heart-rending novel, perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Little Paris Bookshop. 'Quirky, clever and unputdownable.' Katie Fforde 'An exquisite story.' Liz Fenwick 'Burns fiercely with love and hurt.' Linda Green 'I cried like a motherf***er.' Shelley Harris THIS BOOKSHOP KEEPS MANY SECRETS . . . Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never show you. Into her refuge - the York book emporium where she works - come a poet, a lover, a friend, and three mysterious deliveries, each of which stirs unsettling memories. Everything is about to change for Loveday. Someone knows about her past and she can't hide any longer. She must decide who around her she can trust. Can she find the courage to right a heartbreaking wrong? And will she ever find the words to tell her own story? It's time to turn the pages of her past . . . Praise for Lost for Words: 'Loveday is a marvellous character and she captured my heart from the very first page . . . and her bookshop is the bookshop of readers' dreams.' Julie Cohen, bestselling author of Dear Thing 'Loveday is so spiky and likeable. I so loved Archie, Nathan and the book shop and the unfolding mystery' Carys Bray, author of A Song For Issy Bradley and The Museum of You 'Beautifully written and atmospheric. Loveday is an endearing heroine, full of attitude and fragility. The haunting story of her past is brilliantly revealed.' Tracy Rees, Sunday Times top ten bestselling author of Amy Snow

Mr. Peardews Sammlung der verlorenen Dinge

Roman
Author: Ruth Hogan
Publisher: Ullstein Buchverlage
ISBN: 3843714703
Category: Fiction
Page: 320
View: 7452

Continue Reading →

Charmant, außergewöhnlich und liebenswert. Machen Sie sich mit Mr. Peardew auf die Suche nach verlorenen Dingen. Jeder Gegenstand, den Anthony Peardew auf der Straße findet, hat eine Geschichte. Er sammelt und archiviert sie alle in seinem gediegenen viktorianischen Haus und plant, sie eines Tages an ihre ursprünglichen Besitzer zurückzugeben. Denn er selbst sieht sich nur als Hüter der verlorenen Dinge. Vor Jahren hat er selbst etwas verloren, das er seitdem auf seinen Streifzügen sucht: ein Schmuckstück. Es gehörte seiner großen Liebe, und das Medaillon verbindet sie noch immer mit ihm. Anthony muss diese besondere Aufgabe jedoch an seine Erbin Laura weitergeben, ohne ihr von dem großen Geheimnis erzählt zu haben, das seine Sammlung umgibt.

The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae


Author: Stephanie Butland
Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
ISBN: 1785764411
Category: Fiction
Page: 400
View: 5133

Continue Reading →

If you loved LOST FOR WORDS, ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE and THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS you'll love this. 'I love it so much. Moving, funny, romantic. Utterly engaging . . . impossible to put down' Katie Fforde Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She's only a few months past the heart transplant that - just in time - saved her life. Life should be a joyful adventure. But . . . Her relationship with her mother is at breaking point and she wants to find her father. Have her friends left her behind? And she's felt so helpless for so long that she's let polls on her blog make her decisions for her. She barely knows where to start on her own. Then there's Lennox. Her best friend and one time lover. He was sick too. He didn't make it. And now she's supposed to face all of this without him. But her new heart is a bold heart. She just needs to learn to listen to it . . . Have you read LOST FOR WORDS, which readers are calling 'the best book of 2017'? Search 9781785762604.

The Keeper of Lost Things

winner of the Richard & Judy Readers' Award and Sunday Times bestseller
Author: Ruth Hogan
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 1473635497
Category: Fiction
Page: 352
View: 9366

Continue Reading →

WINNER OF RICHARD AND JUDY AUTUMN BOOK CLUB 2017 - 'One of the most charming novels either of us has read. Don't lose it. Keep it' Richard & Judy* *The perfect holiday read, recommended by thousands of readers* *One of the Mail on Sunday's 'Best books for the beach this summer'* Meet the 'Keeper of Lost Things'... Once a celebrated author of short stories now in his twilight years, Anthony Peardew has spent half his life collecting lost objects, trying to atone for a promise broken many years before. Realising he is running out of time, he leaves his house and all its lost treasures to his assistant Laura, the one person he can trust to fulfil his legacy and reunite the thousands of objects with their rightful owners. But the final wishes of the 'Keeper of Lost Things' have unforeseen repercussions which trigger a most serendipitous series of encounters... 'The first book I read in 2017 - and if another as good comes along in the next 12 months, I'll eat my special gold reviewing spectacles' Daily Mail And if you loved The Keeper of Lost Things, don't miss Ruth Hogan's new novel, Queenie Malone's Paradise Hotel, which is out now

The Keeper of Lost Things


Author: Jamie Campbell
Publisher: Jamie Campbell
ISBN: N.A
Category: Young Adult Fiction
Page: 300
View: 5073

Continue Reading →

Someone lost her a long time ago. Do you ever wonder what happens to all the things that are lost? Em Gabrielle does. Not only does she think about it, it is her obsession. Finding and rescuing objects everyone else loses is the only thing keeping the sixteen year old going. When the father that walked out on her ten years earlier is suddenly reported missing, Em tries to resist the urge to find him. After all, he is just another lost thing, right? As she delves deeper and deeper into the case, she quickly works out that the stakes in this case are higher than ever. Finding the lost thing has never been so personal or difficult before. If Em finds her father, does that mean she can be found too? In the first of the Keeper Series, meet the first of the damaged residents of Lakeside. You might never think the same way about things again. Also in the Keeper Series: The Keeper of Lost Things The Keeper of Secret Things The Keeper of Broken Things

The Author of Love

Understanding a Misunderstood God
Author: Joc Anderson, PsyD.
Publisher: WestBowPress
ISBN: 144970803X
Category: Religion
Page: 384
View: 8442

Continue Reading →

Throughout history, God has been depicted variously as a judgmental tyrant, a grand conciliator, and even as a rather low-key comic, portrayed by the cigar-smoking George Burns in the movie “Oh God!” The question that’s begging to be answered is: Who is God? This devotional evolved out of one person’s desire to portray God in a truer light. In the Book of Job, God reprimanded Job’s friends for failing to speak truthfully about Him. They misrepresented His character. Job, on the other hand, understood His Maker and was, therefore, the single voice of truth in an otherwise corrupt world. Can you honestly say that you know your Creator? Can you speak truthfully about Him? This devotional will help you get to know the real God, who is neither the judgmental tyrant nor the light-weight movie character. He is, if nothing else, a God of love and compassion. At the conclusion of your devotionals, I have formulated a “Love Quotient” (L.Q.) test to measure the depth of your love. The questions are designed to be thought-provoking and insightful. You may also find them a bit daunting and uncomfortable. Answer each question according to your beliefs. There are no wrong or right answers. It is my hope you’ll find this little exercise revealing and instructive of how you love. The answers and Key is also included. Your heart is what you’re all about. May you understand God’s love for you.

Brother's Keeper II: Liam

Brother's Keeper, #2
Author: Stephanie St. Klaire
Publisher: Stephanie St. Klaire
ISBN: 1386817309
Category: Fiction
Page: N.A
View: 4131

Continue Reading →

Running blind, and hiding in plain sight may be your only option, when your villain isn't just behind you but all around you. When a past Felicity Nichols thought was dead and buried threatens everyone she loves, that's exactly what she encounters. There's nowhere to run, nowhere to hide because her villain can follow her anywhere. Liam O'Reilly is as loyal and protective as they come. When Felicity falls victim to a cyber stalker who wants something she has, he will stop at nothing to protect her and his family from the danger threatening them at every turn. Technology may make life easier for some, but it's the smoking gun that can end it all for others. Power, and money will never be enough – it will only get you so far. The power struggle threatens to turn deadly when Liam meets his match, behind the computer screen, in a race of wills against time. Can Liam overcome his own past, or will it cost him another broken heart and shattered soul. Can Felicity be the light in his darkness and reveal that love is the most dangerous weapon of all? Will Liam and Brother's Keeper Security be able to bring a faceless predator to justice? Or, will Liam lose more than just a second chance at love? One thing is certain… sometimes you have to break the rules to protect what you love.

Morning by Morning for Graduates


Author: Charles Haddon Spurgeon
Publisher: Hendrickson Publishers
ISBN: 1598566857
Category: Religion
Page: 384
View: 1359

Continue Reading →

Spurgeon has penned meditations, expressed simply but eloquently, that continue to draw readers to faith and obedience. This edition of his classic daily devotional is targeted specifically to students and graduates, who will appreciate his wise and timeless counsel. Special Features - A new topical index helps readers discover Spurgeon's thoughts on various topics important to Christian life. - An index of texts lets readers find what Spurgeon had to say about a particular Bible verse.

Ein Himmel voller Bücher

Roman Neuerscheinung 2018
Author: Amy Meyerson
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 3959677286
Category: Fiction
Page: 448
View: 3451

Continue Reading →

Eine bunte Postkarte aus Malibu, eine alte Ausgabe von Shakespeares Der Sturm und der kleine, kurz vor dem Bankrott stehende Buchladen Prospero Books in Los Angeles. Die junge Lehrerin Miranda Brooks staunt nicht schlecht über das einzigartige Vermächtnis ihres Onkels Billy. Schon immer hat er ihr Rätsel aufgegeben. Warum hat er ihrer Familie den Rücken gekehrt? Warum spricht ihre Mutter nie über ihn? Miranda folgt der Spur der Botschaften, die er für sie versteckt hat - und die sie nicht nur in die Welt der Bücher führt, sondern ihr Leben von Grund auf ändert.

The Seed Gatherers


Author: Inge Meldgaard
Publisher: Inge Meldgaard
ISBN: N.A
Category: Fiction
Page: 321
View: 1738

Continue Reading →

In the year 2457, in the Dandenong Ranges, on the outskirts of Melbourne, Australia, a crime is committed by two young Norwegians that affects the entire community. If caught, Yngwie and his friend Torleif, who are expert communication systems hackers, must answer to the Federation Special Investigation Unit. Others use the event as inspiration, plunging the forests and its people into chaos. The lives of scientists, forest guardians and seed gatherers are placed at risk, as are their cats – remarkable creatures bred in special centres and able to influence human emotions. Meanwhile, a new and intriguing forest inhabitant is discovered and those who know of its existence must decide whether to reveal its secret. In this third book of the series, that began with ‘The Cicada’, followed by ‘A Death In The Making’, the story gradually links back to earlier, unresolved questions and continues to explore the relationship between the main characters and their feline companions.

The Owl Keeper


Author: Christine Brodien-Jones
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780375895906
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 320
View: 1672

Continue Reading →

Maxwell Unger has always loved the night. He used to do brave things like go tramping through the forest with his gran after dark. He loved the stories she told him about the world before the Destruction—about nature, and books, and the silver owls. His favorite story, though, was about the Owl Keeper. According to Max’s gran, in times of darkness the Owl Keeper would appear to unite owls and sages against the powers of the dark. Gran is gone now, and so are her stories of how the world used to be. Max is no longer brave. The forest is dangerous, the books Gran had saved have been destroyed, and the silver owls are extinct. At least that’s what the High Echelon says. But Max knows better. Maxwell Unger has a secret. And when a mysterious girl comes to town, he might just have to start being brave again. The time of the Owl Keeper, Gran would say, is coming soon. From the Hardcover edition.

Laugh it Off Annual

South African Youth Culture
Author: Justin Nurse,Chris Verrijdt
Publisher: Juta and Company Ltd
ISBN: 9781919930442
Category: Popular culture
Page: 110
View: 3165

Continue Reading →

A lively collection of the greatest hits and near misses of all that was truly South African in 2003 -- whether a song, cartoon, installation, design or photo -- by some of the best of the country's young creative talent. Includes Karen Zoid, Tumi Molekane, Zapiro, Pieter-Dirk Uys and Zackie Achmat.

Keeper of Secrets


Author: J. A. Clarke
Publisher: Uncial Press
ISBN: 1601741251
Category: Fiction
Page: 52
View: 614

Continue Reading →

A shocking betrayal by the man she thought she loved is forcing Shawna Carlton to make some critical life choices. All she craves is peace and quiet this holiday season. The isolated cabin in the Mt. Hood National Forest seems perfect for reflection. But that's before she discovers she has a woman-hating neighbor, and the old fishing cabin is home to more than just layers of dust. Dr. Gregory Harris has his own heart-rending reasons for seeking solitude during the holiday season. What he doesn't need is a noisy, helpless, forest-challenged city girl moving in next door. Before he knows it, he's chopping her wood, building her fires and letting her use his modern plumbing. Fresh from the pain of lost love, can two people who sought solitude in the vastness of a forest, begin to heal together?