The Last of the Hunters

Life with the Fishermen of North Shields
Author: Peter Mortimer
Publisher: Five Leaves
ISBN: 9781905512218
Category: Fisheries
Page: 131
View: 7876

Continue Reading →

No further information has been provided for this title.

RIOT

South Shields 1930 : a stage play
Author: Peter Mortimer
Publisher: Five Leaves Publications
ISBN: 9781905512492
Category: Drama
Page: 126
View: 9441

Continue Reading →

The Old Man and the Sea


Author: Ernest Hemingway
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 9781542683425
Category:
Page: 60
View: 345

Continue Reading →

The Old Man and the Sea tells the story of a battle between an aging, experienced fisherman, Santiago, and a large marlin. The story opens with Santiago having gone 84 days without catching a fish, and now being seen as "salao", the worst form of unluckiness. He is so unlucky that his young apprentice, Manolin, has been forbidden by his parents to sail with him and has been told instead to fish with successful fishermen. The boy visits Santiago's shack each night, hauling his fishing gear, preparing food, talking about American baseball and his favorite player, Joe DiMaggio. Santiago tells Manolin that on the next day, he will venture far out into the Gulf Stream, north of Cuba in the Straits of Florida to fish, confident that his unlucky streak is near its end.

Cool for Qat

A Yemeni Journey: Two Countries, Two Times
Author: Peter Mortimer
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 1780574428
Category: Travel
Page: 240
View: 3627

Continue Reading →

When author Peter Mortimer was commissioned to write a play about a little-known riot between Yemeni and British seamen at Mill Dam, South Shields, in 1930, he decided to take the long trip to Yemen itself in search of inspiration. Undeterred by post-11 September government warnings against visiting this 'highly dangerous' area, Mortimer set off and found an extraordinary and surprisingly Anglophile country. Cool for Qat documents this remarkable journey, during which Mortimer pieces together how the riots of 1930 arose and considers their relevance to Western attitudes towards Muslims today. He meets many remarkable characters along the way and immerses himself in the national custom of chewing the narcotic qat leaf. After visiting the ex-British Protectorate of Aden - through which many of the seamen passed en route to Britain - Mortimer travels on to San'a and then Tai'iz. It is while visiting the isolated mountain villages surrounding this city that Mortimer finally meets men who worked in South Shields some 50 years ago. Carrying a battered book with images of Yemenis living in the North-east in the '30s from home to home, trying to jog distant memories, he realises his visit has taken on a new purpose - bringing a small part of the country's history back to where it belongs. Back in the UK, Mortimer's investigations into the 1930 riot reveal a society with many striking similarities to current times. Then, as now, Muslim immigrants were treated as scapegoats for all manner of ills, tabloid newspapers drummed up prejudice and hatred, and the powers that be often used fear and racial mistrust to disguise their own economic failings. Cool for Qat questions just how 'civilised' the Western world - and Britain in particular - is in comparison to Yemen. It is a touching, thought-provoking and at times humorous document of one man's travels through a country about which little is known in the West.

Made in Nottingham

A Writer's Return
Author: Peter Mortimer
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9781907869525
Category: Authors, English
Page: 241
View: 6407

Continue Reading →

Part memoir, part documentary and social commentary, Tyneside writer Peter Mortimer undertakes a journey, taking up residence in the same street he grew up in, on the Sherwood council estate in Nottingham. He revisits his previous Nottingham life, some 50 years back.

Trawlerman

Life at the Helm of the Toughest Job in Britain
Author: Jimmy Buchan
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 0748122079
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 288
View: 5837

Continue Reading →

TRAWLERMAN is the memoir of Jimmy Buchan - skipper of the Amity II, a fishing vessel based in Peterhead, Europe's largest fishing port. Jimmy's story is one of incredible highs and lows. It's a life that has been lived on the very crest of danger and despair, a career of thirty years that has seen other skippers fall by the wayside, undone by a declining industry, or worse, lost to the unforgiving North Sea. By turns gripping, comic and nostalgic, this tale of Britain's most dangerous job, carried out by Britain's most famous skipper, is guaranteed to mesmerize.

Recreation


Author: George O. Shields
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Sports
Page: N.A
View: 5553

Continue Reading →

Rough Seas

The Life of a Deep-Sea Trawlerman
Author: James Greene
Publisher: The History Press
ISBN: 0752478354
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 128
View: 1749

Continue Reading →

A trawlerman’s life was hard, often up against bad weather, rough seas, and black frosts. Although on calm days it could also be a pleasure. In this eventful memoir, deep-sea trawlerman James Greene relates his life at sea, from his childhood when his father would take him out in some of the worst gales and hurricanes imaginable and his early career as a deckhand learner at Fleetwood to obtaining his skipper’s ticket in Grimsby and the many experiences—both disastrous and otherwise—to occur throughout his time at sea are included in this book. During his career, he was involved in ship collisions and fires, arrested for poaching, fired upon by Icelandic gunboats, in countless storms, and even swept overboard in icy conditions off the Russian coast. The British trawling industry is now a by-gone age and people are beginning to forget the adventures and hardships that characterised this profession. This book seeks to keep the memories of a once-great industry alive.

Sapiens

A Brief History of Humankind
Author: Yuval Noah Harari
Publisher: Signal
ISBN: 9780771038518
Category:
Page: 464
View: 4901

Continue Reading →

Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective. 100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo Sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations, and human rights; to trust money, books, and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables, and consumerism? And what will our world be like in the millennia to come? In Sapiens, Dr. Yuval Noah Harari spans the whole of human history, from the very first humans to walk the earth to the radical -- and sometimes devastating -- breakthroughs of the Cognitive, Agricultural, and Scientific Revolutions. Drawing on insights from biology, anthropology, palaeontology, and economics, he explores how the currents of history have shaped our human societies, the animals and plants around us, and even our personalities. Have we become happier as history has unfolded? Can we ever free our behaviour from the heritage of our ancestors? And what, if anything, can we do to influence the course of the centuries to come? Bold, wide-ranging and provocative, Sapiens challenges everything we thought we knew about being human: our thoughts, our actions, our power...and our future.