The Last of the Hunters

Life with the Fishermen of North Shields
Author: Peter Mortimer
Publisher: Five Leaves
ISBN: 9781905512218
Category: Fisheries
Page: 131
View: 1547

Continue Reading →

No further information has been provided for this title.

Candles in the Storm

A powerful and evocative Northern saga
Author: Rita Bradshaw
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 0755375882
Category: Fiction
Page: 448
View: 4738

Continue Reading →

Her actions during one violent storm change a young woman's life forever... Candles in the Storm is a spell-binding saga from Rita Bradshaw that follows a young woman as she faces prejudice, war and true love. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Dilly Court. 'Rita's sharp, darting prose with deliciously gossipy undercurrents, perfectly portrays the fragility of lives dependent on the sea... Rita takes us into the heart of a hardy community in a novel full of local flavour, atmosphere traditions and habits' - Sunderland Echo The storm that's raging when fisherman's daughter Daisy Appleby is born in a village just north of Sunderland could be taken as a warning of a turbulent life ahead. It's during another storm fifteen years later that her father and brothers are lost and Daisy rescues William, heir of a wealthy Southwick family, with whom she falls in love. Soon, as her reward for saving him, Daisy is working for William's irascible aunt, while local lad Alf continues to court her. Warned off by Daisy's grandmother, William denies his own feelings and so it will be many years later, after much hardship and turmoil, that Daisy finds the happiness she deserves, amidst the drama of the Great War. What readers are saying about Candles in the Storm: 'The historical setting is brilliant. You feel as though you are living during those times. Sometimes your heart is in your mouth as you turn the pages' 'Best book I have read for a long time. Could not put it down' 'Was enthralled from start to finish'

100 Days On Holy Island

A Writer's Exile
Author: Peter Mortimer
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 1780574452
Category: Travel
Page: 240
View: 9849

Continue Reading →

It was the worst winter in a decade, the winter of foot-and-mouth, when island power cuts ran for up to 72 hours - and two days before Peter Mortimer's planned departure, his father died.100 DAYS ON HOLY ISLAND is a quirky and often moving account of one man's self-imposed exile to a remote island off the coast of North-east England. Eschewing the usual historical or religious portrayal, Mortimer gives a vivid, humourous and often dramatic account of a confirmed urbanite in a small, tight-knit community cut off twice daily by the tides. Throwing himself into island life, he explores the landscape, people and myths that surround this remote `cradle of Chrisianity'. All of Mortimer's experiences within this unique island community are depicted with warmth and humour. The bleak winter scenery and idiosyncrasies of the island's inhabitants are described with an insight and understanding that could only have been achieved from personal experience. He helped in the local school, worked on the land, was the first person to be voluntarily cut off in the island refuge box and spent three tides isolated on the exposed outcrop, St Cuthbert's Island. The 100 days changed him - and probably changed the island. 100 DAYS ON HOLY ISLAND is a personal homage to the island and a remarkable account of a micro-society unique in modern Britain.

The Athenaeum

Journal of Literature, Science, the Fine Arts, Music and the Drama
Author: N.A
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: England
Page: N.A
View: 447

Continue Reading →

The Pall Mall Budget

Being a Weekly Collection of Articles Printed in the Pall Mall Gazette from Day to Day, with a Summary of News
Author: N.A
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category:
Page: N.A
View: 9099

Continue Reading →

The Examiner

A Weekly Paper on Politics, Literature, Music and the Fine Arts
Author: N.A
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category:
Page: N.A
View: 6223

Continue Reading →

Nature


Author: Sir Norman Lockyer
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Electronic journals
Page: N.A
View: 5234

Continue Reading →