It's Not Me, It's Them

Confessions of a hopeless modern romantic - THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER
Author: Joel Dommett
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 1472251288
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 288
View: 7427

Continue Reading →

'Effortless humour and bucketloads of charm. It's impossible not to be bowled over by the ending. Most definitely my favourite celebrity memoir in a long time. Brilliant.' - THE SUN **The hilarious debut from I'm A Celeb star Joel Dommett (Live at the Apollo, 8 Out of 10 Cats, Impractical Jokers), for fans of Joe Lycett, James Acaster and Sarah Millican** As a 17-year-old virgin working . . . for Virgin, Joel Dommett has grand ambitions. Firstly, he is going to swap suburbia for the bright lights of Showbiz. Secondly, he is going to find 'the one' in the first forty people he's going to sleep with. What follows is a series of disastrous romantic encounters, including carpets mistaken for toilets, futile grand gestures and the catfishing to end all catfishing. Featuring genuine teenage diary entries and told in Joel's trademark self-deprecating style, this is the brilliant first book from the UK's most exciting comedian.

The Flourishing of Romance and the Rise of Allegory


Author: George Saintsbury
Publisher: Read Books Ltd
ISBN: 1473349427
Category: Literary Criticism
Page: 470
View: 5502

Continue Reading →

Originally published in 1897, "The Flourishing Of Romance And The Rise Of Allegory" is a fascinating treatise by English writer George Saintsbury on Romance. Contents include: "The function of Latin", "Chansons De Geste", "The Matter of Britain", "Antiquity in Romance", "The making of English and the settlement of European Prosody", "Middle High German Poetry", "The 'Fox'", "The 'Rose'", etc. George Edward Bateman Saintsbury (23 October 1845 - 28 January 1933) was an English writer, scholar, literary historian, critic and wine connoisseur. Other notable works by this author include: "A Primer of French Literature" (1880), "Short History of French Literature" (1882), and "History of Elizabethan Literature" (1887). Many vintage books such as this are becoming increasingly scarce and expensive. It is with this in mind that we are republishing this volume now in an affordable, modern, high-quality edition complete with a specially commissioned new biography of the author.

True Briton

A Weekly Magazine of Amusement and Instruction
Author: N.A
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category:
Page: N.A
View: 2592

Continue Reading →

Handbook of Affective Sciences


Author: Richard J. Davidson,Klaus R. Scherer,H. Hill Goldsmith
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 0198029128
Category: Reference
Page: 1230
View: 3229

Continue Reading →

This volume is a comprehensive roadmap to the burgeoning area of affective sciences, which now spans several disciplines. The Handbook brings together, for the first time, the various strands of inquiry and latest research in the scientific study of the relationship between the mechanisms of the brain and the psychology of mind. In recent years, scientists have made considerable advances in understanding how brain processes shape emotions and are changed by human emotion. Drawing on a wide range of neuroimaging techniques, neuropsychological assessment, and clinical research, scientists are beginning to understand the biological mechanisms for emotions. As a result, researchers are gaining insight into such compelling questions as: How do people experience life emotionally? Why do people respond so differently to the same experiences? What can the face tell us about internal states? How does emotion in significant social relationships influence health? Are there basic emotions common to all humans? This volume brings together the most eminent scholars in the field to present, in sixty original chapters, the latest research and theories in the field. The book is divided into ten sections: Neuroscience; Autonomic Psychophysiology; Genetics and Development; Expression; Components of Emotion; Personality; Emotion and Social Processes; Adaptation, Culture, and Evolution; Emotion and Psychopathology; and Emotion and Health. This major new volume will be an invaluable resource for researchers that will define affective sciences for the next decade.

The Pietist Impulse in Christianity


Author: Christian T. Collins Winn,Christopher Gehrz
Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers
ISBN: 1621890627
Category: Religion
Page: 366
View: 6215

Continue Reading →

From intellectual inquiry to spiritual practice to social reform, Pietism has exerted an enormous influence on various forms of Christianity and on Western culture more generally. However, this contribution remains largely unacknowledged or misunderstood in Anglo-American contexts because negative stereotypes--some undeserved, others deserved--tend to cast Pietism as a quietistic and sectarian form of religion interested in a narrow set of individualistic and spiritual concerns. In this volume, scholars from a variety of disciplines offer a corrective to this misunderstanding, highlighting the profound theological, cultural, and spiritual contribution of Pietism and what they term the pietist impulse. The essays in this volume demonstrate that Pietism was a movement of great depth and originality that was not merely concerned with the pious soul and its God. Rather, Pietists were from the beginning concerned with issues of social and ecclesial reform, the nature of history and historical inquiry, the shape and purpose of theology and theological education, the missional task of the church, and social justice and political engagement. In addition, the essays collected here fruitfully raise the question of the ongoing relevance of Pietism and the pietist impulse for contemporary problems and questions across disciplines and in the church at large.

From Warism to Pacifism

A Moral Continuum
Author: Duane Cady
Publisher: Temple University Press
ISBN: 1439903131
Category: Philosophy
Page: 145
View: 1617

Continue Reading →

Illuminating the moral views on violence, from the moral restraint of the just-war tradition through pragmatic nonviolence to principled variations of pacifism.

The Writer


Author: William Henry Hills,Robert Luce
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Authorship
Page: N.A
View: 5880

Continue Reading →

Editor's Study


Author: William Dean Howells
Publisher: Whitston Publishing Company Incorporated
ISBN: N.A
Category: Language Arts & Disciplines
Page: 417
View: 1735

Continue Reading →

The present edition contains a comprehensive index with cross-references and a thorough introduction revealing the details concerning the column, the corresponding period in Howells' life, and the literary milieu of these critical years in American literature. "The Editor's Study" collection offers a unique reference work to scholars interested in this important period of transition in American literature, as well as to those interested in Howells as one of America's first exponents of comparative literature.

This Modern Love. Liebe in Briefen

Liebespost aus der ganzen Welt
Author: Will Darbyshire
Publisher: Goldmann Verlag
ISBN: 364120898X
Category: Social Science
Page: 224
View: 4324

Continue Reading →

Nach einer schmerzhaften Trennung kam Will Darbyshire die Idee zu "This modern love". Er ermutigte seine Follower, ihm Briefe an aktuelle oder verflossene Liebhaber zu schicken, die er veröffentlichen würde. Das Projekt war ein durchschlagender Erfolg: über 15.000 Menschen aus 98 Ländern folgten seinem Aufruf. Die schönsten Briefe hat Will Darbyshire in diesem Buch gesammelt. Poetisch, witzig, traurig, zornig - so vielfältig wie die Liebe selbst.

The Round Table

A Saturday Review of Politics Finance, Literature, Society, and Art
Author: N.A
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: New York (N.Y.)
Page: N.A
View: 6568

Continue Reading →