It's Not Me, It's Them

Confessions of a hopeless modern romantic - THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER
Author: Joel Dommett
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 1472251288
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 288
View: 2665

Continue Reading →

'Effortless humour and bucketloads of charm. It's impossible not to be bowled over by the ending. Most definitely my favourite celebrity memoir in a long time. Brilliant.' - THE SUN **The hilarious debut from I'm A Celeb star Joel Dommett (Live at the Apollo, 8 Out of 10 Cats, Impractical Jokers), for fans of Joe Lycett, James Acaster and Sarah Millican** As a 17-year-old virgin working . . . for Virgin, Joel Dommett has grand ambitions. Firstly, he is going to swap suburbia for the bright lights of Showbiz. Secondly, he is going to find 'the one' in the first forty people he's going to sleep with. What follows is a series of disastrous romantic encounters, including carpets mistaken for toilets, futile grand gestures and the catfishing to end all catfishing. Featuring genuine teenage diary entries and told in Joel's trademark self-deprecating style, this is the brilliant first book from the UK's most exciting comedian.

This Modern Love. Liebe in Briefen

Liebespost aus der ganzen Welt
Author: Will Darbyshire
Publisher: Goldmann Verlag
ISBN: 364120898X
Category: Social Science
Page: 224
View: 5109

Continue Reading →

Nach einer schmerzhaften Trennung kam Will Darbyshire die Idee zu "This modern love". Er ermutigte seine Follower, ihm Briefe an aktuelle oder verflossene Liebhaber zu schicken, die er veröffentlichen würde. Das Projekt war ein durchschlagender Erfolg: über 15.000 Menschen aus 98 Ländern folgten seinem Aufruf. Die schönsten Briefe hat Will Darbyshire in diesem Buch gesammelt. Poetisch, witzig, traurig, zornig - so vielfältig wie die Liebe selbst.

The Flourishing of Romance and the Rise of Allegory


Author: George Saintsbury
Publisher: Read Books Ltd
ISBN: 1473349427
Category: Literary Criticism
Page: 470
View: 2075

Continue Reading →

Originally published in 1897, “The Flourishing Of Romance And The Rise Of Allegory” is a fascinating treatise by English writer George Saintsbury on Romance. Contents include: “The function of Latin”, “Chansons De Geste”, “The Matter of Britain”, “Antiquity in Romance”, “The making of English and the settlement of European Prosody”, “Middle High German Poetry”, “The 'Fox'”, “The 'Rose'”, etc. George Edward Bateman Saintsbury (23 October 1845 – 28 January 1933) was an English writer, scholar, literary historian, critic and wine connoisseur. Other notable works by this author include: “A Primer of French Literature” (1880), “Short History of French Literature” (1882), and “History of Elizabethan Literature” (1887). Many vintage books such as this are becoming increasingly scarce and expensive. It is with this in mind that we are republishing this volume now in an affordable, modern, high-quality edition complete with a specially commissioned new biography of the author.

Cultural Studies of Modern Germany

History, Representation, and Nationhood
Author: Russell A. Berman
Publisher: Univ of Wisconsin Press
ISBN: 9780299140144
Category: History
Page: 227
View: 7793

Continue Reading →

The opening of the Berlin Wall reopened a host of political, cultural, and historical concerns. The German past, which seemed frozen beneath the divisions of the Cold War, has reemerged, eliciting both enthusiasm and apprehension. Russell A. Berman argues that, for the Germans, national unity will mean either encompassing democracy or exclusionary politics--a dilemna that is far from new in German history. With his characteristic wit and originality, Berman probes the ambiguities of German nationhood. Taking the theoretical perspective of Cultural Studies, he looks at literature, painting, and film from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries to consider how nationhood is constituted and how it can be represented, what holds a citizenry together and what separates it from other populations, and how the legacy of a past history frames the definition of identities and institutions in the present. Berman offers a thoughtful discussion of the methods of the emerging school of Cultural Studies and of the Frankfurt School of critical theory, showing how they diverge in their treatment of cultural issues. He then applies the framework of Cultural Studies to representations of the German nation. He offers definitions of Germany in the nineteenth century: in the poetry of Heinrich Heine (contrasted with Walt Whitman), in a visual representation of Jewish emancipation, and through a contrast with Italian unification. Berman explores nationhood and modernism through discussions of cinema, expressionist painting, and the politics of deconstruction. The final chapters of Marking Time span post-war literature from Heinrich Böll to Peter Handke and conclude with a discussion of the post-unification debate on the Gulf War. Throughout, Berman demonstrates how Cultural Studies can uncover the cultural assumptions in politics as well as the political agenda of culture.

True Briton

A Weekly Magazine of Amusement and Instruction
Author: N.A
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category:
Page: N.A
View: 9790

Continue Reading →

From Warism to Pacifism

A Moral Continuum
Author: Duane Cady
Publisher: Temple University Press
ISBN: 1439903131
Category: Philosophy
Page: 145
View: 864

Continue Reading →

Illuminating the moral views on violence, from the moral restraint of the just-war tradition through pragmatic nonviolence to principled variations of pacifism.

Ist die Liebe nicht schön?

Weihnachtsroman
Author: Carmel Harrington
Publisher: MIRA Taschenbuch
ISBN: 3956499263
Category: Fiction
Page: 368
View: 9105

Continue Reading →

Eine Geschichte, so wohlig und warm wie eine heiße Schokolade! Weihnachten war stets die schönste Zeit des Jahres für Belle. Die funkelnden Lichter Dublins, der knirschende Schnee unter den Schuhen, der Zauber, der in der Luft liegt. Doch dieses Jahr ist sie blind für all das, und ihre Welt ist grau, nachdem sie alles verloren hat, was sie liebt. Aber Weihnachten hat auch dieses Jahr nicht seinen Zauber verloren ... und schickt Belle jemanden, der ihr vor Augen führen soll, wie schön das Leben ist.

Strangeland


Author: Tracey Emin,Sonja Junkers
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783442740659
Category:
Page: 238
View: 7426

Continue Reading →

Love and Confess

Roman
Author: Colleen Hoover
Publisher: Deutscher Taschenbuch Verlag
ISBN: 3423428503
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 384
View: 2468

Continue Reading →

Große Gefühle & Geheimnisse Als Auburn im Schaufenster einer Kunstgalerie Briefe mit anonymen Bekenntnissen entdeckt, ist sie zutiefst berührt, denn auch sie trägt ein Geheimnis mit sich, von dem niemand wissen darf- vor allem nicht Owen, der junge Künstler mit den grünen Augen, in den sich Auburn mit ungeahnter Wucht verliebt. Doch auch in Owens Leben gibt es Dinge, die alles zu zerstören drohen, was ihnen wichtig ist

The Writer


Author: William Henry Hills,Robert Luce
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Authorship
Page: N.A
View: 8432

Continue Reading →

Modern Romance

Auf der Suche nach Liebe im 21. Jahrhundert -
Author: Aziz Ansari
Publisher: Goldmann Verlag
ISBN: 3641182638
Category: Family & Relationships
Page: 352
View: 6482

Continue Reading →

Der New-York-Times-Bestseller über die Liebe in Modernen Zeiten Noch nie zuvor hatten wir in der Liebe so viele Optionen – denn romantische Begegnungen sind in Zeiten von Online-Dating, Facebook, Tinder & Co. häufig nur einen Mausklick entfernt. Doch ist das für Singles ein Segen oder ein Fluch? Der weltbekannte amerikanische Schauspieler und Comedian Aziz Ansari begibt sich mit dem Soziologen Eric Klinenberg auf die lehrreiche und äußerst unterhaltsame Suche nach einer Antwort auf diese Frage.

Eine Handvoll Worte


Author: Jojo Moyes
Publisher: Rowohlt Verlag GmbH
ISBN: 3644529515
Category: Fiction
Page: 592
View: 5020

Continue Reading →

Du sollst wissen, dass du mein Herz in deinen Händen hältst. 1960. Jennifer Stirling müsste eigentlich glücklich sein: Sie führt ein sorgloses Leben an der Seite ihres wohlhabenden Mannes. Doch ihr Herz gehört einem anderen – und er bittet sie, alles für ihn aufzugeben. 2003. Ellie Haworth hat ihren Traumjob gefunden: Sie ist Journalistin bei einer der führenden Zeitungen Londons. Eigentlich müsste sie glücklich sein. Doch der Mann, den sie liebt, gehört einer anderen. Eines Tages fällt Ellie im Archiv ein jahrzehntealter Brief in die Hände: Der unbekannte Absender bittet seine Geliebte, ihren Ehemann zu verlassen und mit ihm nach New York zu gehen. Als Ellie diese Zeilen liest, ist sie erschüttert. Was ist aus den beiden und ihrer Liebe geworden? Sie stellt Nachforschungen an und stößt auf Jennifer: eine Frau, die alles verloren hat. Alles, außer einer Handvoll kostbarer Worte. Wer die Liebe nicht kennt, kennt nichts. Wer sie hat, hat alles. «Ein großartiger, gefühlvoller und berührender Roman.» (Sophie Kinsella) «Eine dramatische und romantische Geschichte von verschollenen Briefen, gebrochenen Herzen und der Hoffnung auf ein glückliches Ende.» (Marie Claire) «Man bekommt richtig Lust, wieder einmal selbst einen Liebesbrief zu schreiben.» (Glamour) «Ein hinreißend romantisches Buch, über das man fast seinen eigenen Liebsten vergisst.» (Independent on Sunday) «Voller Emotionen und packend ab der ersten Seite.» (Woman)

Editor's Study


Author: William Dean Howells
Publisher: Whitston Publishing Company Incorporated
ISBN: N.A
Category: Language Arts & Disciplines
Page: 417
View: 2272

Continue Reading →

The present edition contains a comprehensive index with cross-references and a thorough introduction revealing the details concerning the column, the corresponding period in Howells' life, and the literary milieu of these critical years in American literature. "The Editor's Study" collection offers a unique reference work to scholars interested in this important period of transition in American literature, as well as to those interested in Howells as one of America's first exponents of comparative literature.

Confessions of a Failed Southern Lady


Author: Florence King
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 0312050631
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 278
View: 5820

Continue Reading →

The author humorously recounts her life growing up in the South, and comments on southern men, women, and traditions

Der große Gatsby

Reclam Taschenbuch
Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald
Publisher: Reclam Verlag
ISBN: 3159613437
Category: Fiction
Page: 240
View: 9463

Continue Reading →

F. Scott Fitzgeralds Meisterwerk von 1925 ist eine der großen Liebesgeschichten der Weltliteratur. Jay Gatsby, durch dubiose Geschäfte zum Millionär geworden, gibt in seiner Villa auf Long Island glanzvolle Partys für die New Yorker Gesellschaft. Er selber aber träumt davon, die Vergangenheit wiederzubeleben und seine große Liebe zurückzugewinnen. Doch die Suche nach der verlorenen Zeit endet tragisch.