From Alchemy to Chemistry


Author: John Read
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 0486170845
Category: Science
Page: 256
View: 5568

Continue Reading →

Broad, humanistic treatment focuses on great figures of chemistry and ideas that revolutionized the science. Much on alchemy, also development of modern chemistry, atomic theory, elements, organic chemistry, more. 50 illustrations.

The World's Greatest Fix

A History of Nitrogen and Agriculture
Author: G. J. Leigh
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 0190290153
Category: Science
Page: 256
View: 5208

Continue Reading →

In the tradition of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel, this gives the very early history of how human ingenuity overcame the risk of famine through productive agriculture. Starting with a layman's guide to the chemistry of nitrogen fixation, the book goes on to show how humans emerged from nomadic lifestyles and began developing towns and settlements. When they for the first time began planting the same fields year after year, they noticed quickly the need to ensure soil fertility. But how? The method they came up with is still in use to this day.

From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story


Author: Arthur Greenberg
Publisher: John Wiley & Sons
ISBN: 0470085231
Category: Science
Page: 664
View: 8549

Continue Reading →

Praise for From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story "The timeline from alchemy to chemistry contains some of the most mystifying ideas and images that humans have ever devised. Arthur Greenberg shows us this wonderful world in a unique and highly readable book." —Dr. John Emsley, author of The Elements of Murder: A History of Poison "Art Greenberg takes us, through text and lovingly selected images, on a 'magical mystery tour' of the chemical universe. No matter what page you open, there is a chemical story worth telling." —Dr. Roald Hoffmann, Nobel Laureate and coauthor of Chemistry Imagined "Chemistry has perhaps the most intricate, most fascinating, and certainly most romantic history of all the sciences. Arthur Greenberg's essays-delightful, learned, quirky, highly personal, and richly illustrated with contemporary drawings (many of great rarity and beauty)-provide a kaleidoscope of intellectual landscapes, bringing the experiments, the ideas, and the human figures of chemistry's past intensely alive." —Dr. Oliver Sacks, author of Awakenings From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story takes you on an illustrated tour of chemistry's fascinating history, from its early focus on the spiritual relationship between man and nature to some of today's most cutting-edge applications. Drawing from rare publications and artwork that span over five centuries, the book contains nearly 200 essays and over 350 illustrations-including 24 in full color-that tell the engaging story of the development of this fundamental science and its connection with human history. Join Arthur Greenberg as he combines the "best of the best" from his previous works (as well as several new essays) to paint a colorful picture of chemistry's remarkable origins!

The 1702 Chair of Chemistry at Cambridge

Transformation and Change
Author: Mary D. Archer,Christopher D. Haley
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9780521828734
Category: History
Page: 318
View: 9919

Continue Reading →

A history of the 1702 chair in chemistry at the University of Cambridge.

Boerhaave and Great Britain

Three Lectures on Boerhaave with Particular Reference to His Relations with Great Britain
Author: Gerrit Arie Lindeboom
Publisher: Brill Archive
ISBN: 9789004038431
Category: Science
Page: 75
View: 8000

Continue Reading →

Eurekas and Euphorias

The Oxford Book of Scientific Anecdotes
Author: Walter Gratzer,Walter Bruno Gratzer
Publisher: Oxford University Press on Demand
ISBN: 9780198609407
Category: Science
Page: 357
View: 7232

Continue Reading →

A collection of scientific anecdotes from the past two thousand years offers insight into the personalities, friendships, rivalries, deceptions, hoaxes, tragedies, and mistakes that marked the history of science. (Science & Mathematics)

Proceedings


Author: Royal Institution of Great Britain
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Science
Page: N.A
View: 5370

Continue Reading →

A chemical history tour

picturing chemistry from alchemy to modern molecular science
Author: Arthur Greenberg
Publisher: Wiley-Interscience
ISBN: 9780471354086
Category: Science
Page: 312
View: 1694

Continue Reading →

Take a stroll through this one-of-a-kind book that offers readers an illustrated tour of how chemistry developed, from alchemy to the emergence of chemistry as a scientific discipline in the early 17th century, and, finally, modern-day chemistry. Discover this rare collection of more than 180 illustrations spanning 400 years of chemical publications, with each illustration accompanied by an essay discussing its significance in the context of historical scientific beliefs as well as modern chemical science. The author's knowledge and enthusiasm for the books, images, and subject matter are clearly reflected throughout the very readable, informative, and frequently funny essays. High-quality, full-page reproductions from the author's art collection, published from 1599 to the present, are eloquently displayed.

Physical Chemistry

A Very Short Introduction
Author: Peter Atkins
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 0199689091
Category: Science
Page: 128
View: 3484

Continue Reading →

In this essential guide for students of chemistry, Peter Atkins' Very Short Introduction explains the principles and phenomena of physical chemistry. Using few formulas, Atkins shows how physical chemistry draws its ideas from physics, quantum mechanics, and mathematics, and how it has contributed to our understanding of the natural world.

Geschichte der organischen Chemie seit 1880


Author: Paul Walden,Carl Graebe
Publisher: Springer-Verlag
ISBN: 3662286939
Category: Science
Page: 946
View: 9420

Continue Reading →

Dieser Buchtitel ist Teil des Digitalisierungsprojekts Springer Book Archives mit Publikationen, die seit den Anfängen des Verlags von 1842 erschienen sind. Der Verlag stellt mit diesem Archiv Quellen für die historische wie auch die disziplingeschichtliche Forschung zur Verfügung, die jeweils im historischen Kontext betrachtet werden müssen. Dieser Titel erschien in der Zeit vor 1945 und wird daher in seiner zeittypischen politisch-ideologischen Ausrichtung vom Verlag nicht beworben.

Der Marsianer

Roman
Author: Andy Weir
Publisher: Heyne Verlag
ISBN: 3641144000
Category: Fiction
Page: 512
View: 1294

Continue Reading →

Gestrandet auf dem Mars Der Astronaut Mark Watney war auf dem besten Weg, eine lebende Legende zu werden, schließlich war er der erste Mensch in der Geschichte der Raumfahrt, der je den Mars betreten hat. Nun, sechs Tage später, ist Mark auf dem besten Weg, der erste Mensch zu werden, der auf dem Mars sterben wird: Bei einer Expedition auf dem Roten Planeten gerät er in einen Sandsturm, und als er aus seiner Bewusstlosigkeit erwacht, ist er allein. Auf dem Mars. Ohne Ausrüstung. Ohne Nahrung. Und ohne Crew, denn die ist bereits auf dem Weg zurück zur Erde. Es ist der Beginn eines spektakulären Überlebenskampfes ...