From Alchemy to Chemistry


Author: John Read
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 0486170845
Category: Science
Page: 256
View: 2958

Continue Reading →

Broad, humanistic treatment focuses on great figures of chemistry and ideas that revolutionized the science. Much on alchemy, also development of modern chemistry, atomic theory, elements, organic chemistry, more. 50 illustrations.

The World's Greatest Fix

A History of Nitrogen and Agriculture
Author: G. J. Leigh
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 0190290153
Category: Science
Page: 256
View: 2831

Continue Reading →

In the tradition of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel, this gives the very early history of how human ingenuity overcame the risk of famine through productive agriculture. Starting with a layman's guide to the chemistry of nitrogen fixation, the book goes on to show how humans emerged from nomadic lifestyles and began developing towns and settlements. When they for the first time began planting the same fields year after year, they noticed quickly the need to ensure soil fertility. But how? The method they came up with is still in use to this day.

From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story


Author: Arthur Greenberg
Publisher: John Wiley & Sons
ISBN: 0470085231
Category: Science
Page: 664
View: 1028

Continue Reading →

Praise for From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story "The timeline from alchemy to chemistry contains some of the most mystifying ideas and images that humans have ever devised. Arthur Greenberg shows us this wonderful world in a unique and highly readable book." —Dr. John Emsley, author of The Elements of Murder: A History of Poison "Art Greenberg takes us, through text and lovingly selected images, on a 'magical mystery tour' of the chemical universe. No matter what page you open, there is a chemical story worth telling." —Dr. Roald Hoffmann, Nobel Laureate and coauthor of Chemistry Imagined "Chemistry has perhaps the most intricate, most fascinating, and certainly most romantic history of all the sciences. Arthur Greenberg's essays-delightful, learned, quirky, highly personal, and richly illustrated with contemporary drawings (many of great rarity and beauty)-provide a kaleidoscope of intellectual landscapes, bringing the experiments, the ideas, and the human figures of chemistry's past intensely alive." —Dr. Oliver Sacks, author of Awakenings From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story takes you on an illustrated tour of chemistry's fascinating history, from its early focus on the spiritual relationship between man and nature to some of today's most cutting-edge applications. Drawing from rare publications and artwork that span over five centuries, the book contains nearly 200 essays and over 350 illustrations-including 24 in full color-that tell the engaging story of the development of this fundamental science and its connection with human history. Join Arthur Greenberg as he combines the "best of the best" from his previous works (as well as several new essays) to paint a colorful picture of chemistry's remarkable origins!

The 1702 Chair of Chemistry at Cambridge

Transformation and Change
Author: Mary D. Archer,Christopher D. Haley
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9780521828734
Category: History
Page: 318
View: 9865

Continue Reading →

A history of the 1702 chair in chemistry at the University of Cambridge.

Boerhaave and Great Britain

Three Lectures on Boerhaave with Particular Reference to His Relations with Great Britain
Author: Gerrit Arie Lindeboom
Publisher: Brill Archive
ISBN: 9789004038431
Category: Science
Page: 75
View: 2996

Continue Reading →

Eurekas and Euphorias

The Oxford Book of Scientific Anecdotes
Author: Walter Gratzer,Walter Bruno Gratzer
Publisher: Oxford University Press on Demand
ISBN: 9780198609407
Category: Science
Page: 357
View: 4577

Continue Reading →

A collection of scientific anecdotes from the past two thousand years offers insight into the personalities, friendships, rivalries, deceptions, hoaxes, tragedies, and mistakes that marked the history of science. (Science & Mathematics)

Proceedings


Author: Royal Institution of Great Britain
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Science
Page: N.A
View: 3181

Continue Reading →

From Bacteria to Bach and Back: The Evolution of Minds


Author: Daniel C. Dennett
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 0393242080
Category: Philosophy
Page: 448
View: 9895

Continue Reading →

“[The] best scientific-philosophical approach to understanding how consciousness evolved.… A wonderful book that will shape and drive thinking for years to come.”—Shane O’Mara, Times Higher Education How did we come to have minds? For centuries, poets, philosophers, psychologists, and physicists have wondered how the human mind developed its unrivaled abilities. Disciples of Darwin have explained how natural selection produced plants, but what about the human mind? In From Bacteria to Bach and Back, Daniel C. Dennett builds on recent discoveries from biology and computer science to show, step by step, how a comprehending mind could in fact have arisen from a mindless process of natural selection. A crucial shift occurred when humans developed the ability to share memes, or ways of doing things not based in genetic instinct. Competition among memes produced thinking tools powerful enough that our minds don’t just perceive and react, they create and comprehend. An agenda-setting book for a new generation of philosophers and scientists, From Bacteria to Bach and Back will delight and entertain all those curious about how the mind works.

The Martian

A Novel
Author: Andy Weir
Publisher: Broadway Books
ISBN: 0804139032
Category: Fiction
Page: 384
View: 9908

Continue Reading →

Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he's sure he'll be the first person to die there. After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive. Chances are, though, he won't have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment, or plain-old "human error" are much more likely to kill him first. But Mark isn't ready to give up yet. Drawing on his ingenuity, his engineering skills—and a relentless, dogged refusal to quit—he steadfastly confronts one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next. Will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?

The Happiness Industry

How the Government and Big Business Sold us Well-Being
Author: William Davies
Publisher: Verso Books
ISBN: 1781688478
Category: Social Science
Page: 320
View: 1913

Continue Reading →

In winter 2014, a Tibetan monk lectured the world leaders gathered at Davos on the importance of Happiness. The recent DSM-5, the manual of all diagnosable mental illnesses, for the first time included shyness and grief as treatable diseases. Happiness has become the biggest idea of our age, a new religion dedicated to well-being. In this brilliant dissection of our times, political economist William Davies shows how this philosophy, first pronounced by Jeremy Bentham in the 1780s, has dominated the political debates that have delivered neoliberalism. From a history of business strategies of how to get the best out of employees, to the increased level of surveillance measuring every aspect of our lives; from why experts prefer to measure the chemical in the brain than ask you how you are feeling, to why Freakonomics tells us less about the way people behave than expected, The Happiness Industry is an essential guide to the marketization of modern life. Davies shows that the science of happiness is less a science than an extension of hyper-capitalism.

The Secrets of Alchemy


Author: Lawrence Principe
Publisher: University of Chicago Press
ISBN: 0226682951
Category: History
Page: 281
View: 3738

Continue Reading →

An accessible history of alchemy by a leading world authority explores its development and relationship with myriad disciplines and pursuits, tracing its heyday in early modern Europe while profiling some of history's most colorful alchemists and describing the author's recreation of famous alchemy recipes.

Humour: A Very Short Introduction


Author: Noël Carroll
Publisher: OUP Oxford
ISBN: 0191642592
Category: Philosophy
Page: 144
View: 4417

Continue Reading →

Humour has been discovered in every known human culture and thinkers have discussed it for over two thousand years. Humour can serve many functions; it can be used to relieve stress, to promote goodwill among strangers, to dissipate tension within a fractious group, to display intelligence, and some have even claimed that it improves health and fights sickness. In this Very Short Introduction Noel Carroll examines the leading theories of humour including The Superiority Theory and The Incongruity Theory. He considers the relation of humour to emotion and cognition, and explores the value of humour, specifically in its social functions. He argues that humour, and the comic amusement that follows it, has a crucial role to play in the construction of communities, but he also demonstrates that the social aspect of humour raises questions such as 'When is humour immoral?' and 'Is laughing at immoral humour itself immoral?'. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.