Cold Antler Farm

A Memoir of Growing Food and Celebrating Life on a Scrappy Six-Acre Homestead
Author: Jenna Woginrich
Publisher: Shambhala Publications
ISBN: 0834829673
Category: House & Home
Page: 192
View: 3662

Continue Reading →

Jenna Woginrich is well loved for her essays on all that accompanies the life of a true homesteader: the mud and mess, the beautiful and tragic, the grime and passion. In Cold Antler Farm, she draws our attention to the timekeeper of such a lifestyle: the ancient agricultural year, filled with celebrations and seasonal touchstones that mark turning points in the cycles of life. Amidst these new-old holidays, we learn the stories of her beloved animals and crops. May apple blossoms become sweet fruit for rambunctious sheep in June. Come September, the apple harvest draws together neighbors for cider making under the waning summer sun. These living beings fuel one another—and the community—day to day, season by season. If we examine what living seasonally truly means, the agrarian calendar becomes a source of wisdom. How do we set down roots and break new ground in spring? How can we best nourish body and soul in the heat of deep summer? And what can we learn by simply paying more attention to the weather? Cold Antler Farm encourages us to eat and live well with respect for the natural rhythms of the year. In turn we learn what it means to be truly connected.

The Story of Baha'u'llah

Promised One of All Religions
Author: Druzelle Cederquist
Publisher: Baha'i Publishing Trust
ISBN: 9781931847131
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 359
View: 8417

Continue Reading →

Chronicles the life of the founder of the Baha'i religion, a prophet and self-proclaimed dvinity who was persecuted during his lifetime. Original.

No One is Here Except All of Us


Author: Ramona Ausubel
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101559829
Category: Fiction
Page: 416
View: 5723

Continue Reading →

From the award-winning author of Sons and Daughters of Ease and Plenty. In 1939, the families in a remote Jewish village in Romania feel the war close in on them. Their tribe has moved and escaped for thousands of years- across oceans, deserts, and mountains-but now, it seems, there is nowhere else to go. Danger is imminent in every direction, yet the territory of imagination and belief is limitless. At the suggestion of an eleven-year-old girl and a mysterious stranger who has washed up on the riverbank, the villagers decide to reinvent the world: deny any relationship with the known and start over from scratch. Destiny is unwritten. Time and history are forgotten. Jobs, husbands, a child, are reassigned. And for years, there is boundless hope. But the real world continues to unfold alongside the imagined one, eventually overtaking it, and soon our narrator-the girl, grown into a young mother-must flee her village, move from one world to the next, to find her husband and save her children, and propel them toward a real and hopeful future. A beguiling, imaginative, inspiring story about the bigness of being alive as an individual, as a member of a tribe, and as a participant in history, No One Is Here Except All Of Us explores how we use storytelling to survive and shape our own truths. It marks the arrival of a major new literary talent. From the Hardcover edition.

A Secret History of Witches


Author: Louisa Morgan
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 0356511553
Category: Fiction
Page: 528
View: 4743

Continue Reading →

'Will sweep you away to a time of magic, love, and loss . . . Mesmerizing' Tish Thawer 'Deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters' Jordanna Max Brodsky A TALE OF FAMILY, SACRIFICE, LOVE AND MAGIC 'It's true, ma petite. If they know - if they discover what we are - they will try to kill us' Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mere Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her. Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half-remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival. And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew. The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden. But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed more urgently than ever - not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history. A Secret History of Witches is a moving historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters - witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift. Perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches, Outlander and Nora Roberts. 'A deeply satisfying and magical work of great craft' Carol Goodman, author of Incubus 'Enthralling . . . Deeply moving and richly conceived' Kay Kenyon 'I loved it. A beautiful generational tale, reminiscent of Practical Magic . . . Grounded and real, painful and hopeful at the same time' Laure Eve 'Epic in scope and heartbreakingly tender . . . Recommended for fans of Nora Roberts' Booklist

A Midsummer Night's Dream


Author: Linda Buckle,Rex Gibson,Vicki Wienand,Richard Andrews
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 1107615453
Category: Drama
Page: 190
View: 4453

Continue Reading →

An improved, larger-format edition of the Cambridge School Shakespeare plays, extensively rewritten, expanded and produced in an attractive new design. An active approach to classroom Shakespeare enables students to inhabit Shakespeare's imaginative world in accessible and creative ways. Students are encouraged to share Shakespeare's love of language, interest in character and sense of theatre. Substantially revised and extended in full colour, classroom activities are thematically organised in distinctive 'Stagecraft', 'Write about it', 'Language in the play', 'Characters' and 'Themes' features. Extended glossaries are aligned with the play text for easy reference. Expanded endnotes include extensive essay-writing guidance for 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' and Shakespeare. Includes rich, exciting colour photos of performances of 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' from around the world.

Die Ziege des Herrn Séguin


Author: Alphonse Daudet
Publisher: Schwabe AG
ISBN: 3726908080
Category: Fiction
Page: 32
View: 2546

Continue Reading →

Herr Seguin hatte noch nie Glück mit seinen Ziegen gehabt. Er verlor sie alle auf die gleiche Weise: eines schönen Morgens zerrissen sie ihren Strick, liefen fort in das Gebirge und dort frass sie der Wolf. Nichts hielt sie zurück, weder die Liebkosungen von Herrn Séguin, noch die Furcht vor dem Wolf. Es waren, wie es scheint, alles Ziegen, die unabhängig und frei sein wollten.

British Dramatists Since World War II


Author: Stanley Weintraub
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Dramatists, English
Page: 679
View: 7047

Continue Reading →

The postwar theater in Britain has taken revolutionary steps, offering a wide spectrum of new drama ranging from Harold Pinter's absurdist dramas to Alan Ayckbourn's domestic comedies. Many playwrights from this period have taken bold initiatives to bring

Mountain worlds


Author: National Geographic Book Service
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Nature
Page: 320
View: 7051

Continue Reading →

Examines the mountains of the world and the people who inhabit them.

Ich bin Malala

Das Mädchen, das die Taliban erschießen wollten, weil es für das Recht auf Bildung kämpft
Author: Malala Yousafzai
Publisher: Droemer eBook
ISBN: 3426424231
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 400
View: 8503

Continue Reading →

Am 9. Oktober 2012 wird die junge Pakistanerin Malala Yousafzai auf ihrem Schulweg überfallen und niedergeschossen. Die Fünfzehnjährige hatte sich den Taliban widersetzt, die Mädchen verbieten, zur Schule zu gehen. Wie durch ein Wunder kommt Malala mit dem Leben davon. Als im Herbst 2013 ihr Buch "Ich bin Malala" erscheint, ist die Resonanz enorm: Weltweit wird über ihr Schicksal berichtet. Im Juli 2013 hält sie eine beeindruckende Rede vor den Vereinten Nationen. Barack Obama empfängt sie im Weißen Haus, und im Dezember erhält sie den Sacharow-Preis für geistige Freiheit, verliehen vom Europäischen Parlament. Malala Yousafzai lebt heute mit ihrer Familie in England, wo sie wieder zur Schule geht. Malala Yousafzai wird mit dem Friedensnobelpreis 2014 ausgezeichnet. »Dieses Memoir unterstreicht ihre besten Eigenschaften. Ihren Mut und ihre Entschlossenheit kann man nur bewundern. Ihr Hunger nach Bildung und Neugestaltung ist authentisch. Sie wirkt so unschuldig, und da ist diese unverwüstliche Zuversicht. Sie spricht mit einem solchen Gewicht, dass man vergisst, dass Malala erst 16 ist.« The Times »Niemand hat das Recht auf Bildung so knapp, so einprägsam und überzeugend zusammengefasst wie Malala Yousafzai, die tapferste Schülerin der Welt.« Berliner Zeitung »Der mutigste Teenager der Welt« Bild »Bewegend erzählt Malala Yousafzai ihr Schicksal.« Brigitte

The Friend

A Religious and Literary Journal
Author: N.A
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Society of Friends
Page: N.A
View: 3443

Continue Reading →

Poetry Criticism

Excerpts from Criticism of the Works of the Most Significant and Widely Studied Poets of World Literature
Author: N.A
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Poetry
Page: 560
View: 5741

Continue Reading →

Happy Days

A Paper for Young and Old
Author: N.A
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Dime novels
Page: N.A
View: 7382

Continue Reading →