Far From My Father's House

Will an orphan child find his happy ending?
Author: Elizabeth Gill
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 1782061746
Category: Fiction
Page: 256
View: 8082

Continue Reading →

When Blake's grandparents die suddenly, his world collapses. Parentless and friendless, he is taken in by a neighbouring farmer as hired help, where he meets the beautiful Annie, his employer's daughter. But Annie doesn't want to spend her life on the farm. Will he ever see her again? A gritty, emotional saga about love and second chances from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.

The Cinema of Bimal Roy

An 'Outsider' Within
Author: Shoma A. Chatterji
Publisher: SAGE Publishing India
ISBN: 9386062879
Category: Language Arts & Disciplines
Page: 272
View: 8708

Continue Reading →

An analysis of Bimal Roy’s films and their depiction of people outside the ‘mainstream’ The Cinema of Bimal Roy: An ‘Outsider’ Within examines Roy’s adaptations of Bengali and Hindi literary classics while dwelling on his approach and treatment of women, a focal point of many of his films. It draws attention to his cinema of social relevance—untouchability (Sujata), woman deserted by society and family (Biraj Bou), child marriage (Parineeta) and the inhumanity of oppression and forced urbanization (Do Bigha Zameen). The book goes on to discuss Roy’s ability to bestow new screen identities to established actors such as Nutan, Meena Kumari and Dilip Kumar on one hand and discover new talents such as Sunil Dutt, Sadhana and Tarun Bose on the other. Apart from this, his tutelage introduced many new faces to the film industry—Salil Choudhury, Hrishikesh Mukherjee, Nabendu Ghosh and Gulzar among others. Further, the book details the aesthetics of technique—cinematography, editing and sound—in Roy’s films; his movies had some of the best musical scores in Hindi cinema. It also analyses what made Madhumati his biggest commercial success.

Funny Girls

Guffaws, Guts, and Gender in Classic American Comics
Author: Michelle Ann Abate
Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi
ISBN: 1496820770
Category: Literary Criticism
Page: 208
View: 5691

Continue Reading →

For several generations, comics were regarded as a boy's club--created by, for, and about men and boys. In the twenty-first century, however, comics have seen a rise of female creators, characters, and readers. Throughout the first half of the twentieth century, the medium was enjoyed equally by both sexes, and girls were the protagonists of some of the earliest, most successful, and most influential comics. In Funny Girls: Guffaws, Guts, and Gender in Classic American Comics, Michelle Ann Abate examines the important but long-overlooked cadre of young female protagonists in US comics during the first half of the twentieth century. She treats characters ranging from Little Orphan Annie and Nancy to Little Lulu, Little Audrey of the Harvey Girls, and Li'l Tomboy--a group that collectively forms a tradition of funny girls in American comics. Abate demonstrates the massive popularity these funny girls enjoyed, revealing their unexplored narrative richness, aesthetic complexity, and critical possibility. Much of the humor in these comics arose from questioning gender roles, challenging social manners, and defying the status quo. Further, they embodied powerful points of collection about both the construction and intersection of race, class, gender, and age, as well as popular perceptions about children, representations of girlhood, and changing attitudes regarding youth. Finally, but just as importantly, these strips shed light on another major phenomenon within comics: branding, licensing, and merchandising. Collectively, these comics did far more than provide amusement--they were serious agents for cultural commentary and sociopolitical change.

Men of the Global South

A Reader
Author: Adam Jones
Publisher: Zed Books Ltd.
ISBN: 1848131771
Category: Social Science
Page: 449
View: 7816

Continue Reading →

Men of the Global South: A Reader is the most diverse and accessible volume yet published on men and masculinities throughout the developing world. A Reader that also offers a wide range of original contributions, it explores male experience in a uniquely vivid and accessible way. Adam Jones provides a framing introduction that surveys the growing literature on Southern men and masculinities, and links it to the broader study of gender and development. Six main sections portray different aspects of male experience in the global South: 'Family and Sexuality', ;Ritual & Belief', 'Work', 'Governance and Conflict', 'Migrations' and 'Masculinities in Motion'. The text, richly complemented by a number of photographs, serves as an ideal introduction to the lives of men and boys from Africa, the Middle East, Asia, and Latin America/the Caribbean. This book will appeal to students and scholars of gender and development, as well as to general readers interested in gaining a greater understanding and appreciation of men’s roles, challenges, and contributions worldwide.

Men of the Global South

A Reader
Author: Adam Jones
Publisher: Zed Books
ISBN: 9781842775134
Category: Social Science
Page: 425
View: 3488

Continue Reading →

Men of the Global South: A Reader is the most diverse and accessible volume yet published on men and masculinities throughout the developing world. A Reader that also offers a wide range of original contributions, it explores male experience in a uniquely vivid and accessible way. Adam Jones provides a framing introduction that surveys the growing literature on Southern men and masculinities, and links it to the broader study of gender and development. Six main sections portray different aspects of male experience in the global South: "Family and Sexuality," "Ritual & Belief," "Work," "Governance and Conflict," "Migrations," and "Masculinities in Motion." The text, richly complemented by a number of photographs, serves as an ideal introduction to the lives of men and boys from Africa, the Middle East, Asia, and Latin America/the Caribbean. This book will appeal to students and scholars of gender and development, as well as to general readers interested in gaining a greater understanding and appreciation of men’s roles, challenges, and contributions worldwide.

In Love, Where I Belong

How to Experience God's Love
Author: Brenda VanWinkle
Publisher: Destiny Image Publishers
ISBN: 0768489768
Category: Religion
Page: 192
View: 9040

Continue Reading →

Using insightful teachings as well as beautifully described real-life experiences, the stories in In Love, Where I Belong weave together the profound reality that God’s love is for everyone, not just the “super-spiritual,” and that we all have a place where we belong—in His heart. Author Brenda VanWinkle knows what it’s like to be shackled to fear and loneliness. She also knows the sweet triumph of overcoming and finding genuine peace in the Lord. Her early childhood, though idyllic in spots, was also marred by the death of her mother. Over time, however, the discovery of God’s love for her washed away the insecurities. Today, she ministers with her husband, repairing broken relationships around the world.

Nobody's Child

Will these orphan sisters find their happy ending?
Author: Elizabeth Gill
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 1784298972
Category: Fiction
Page: 400
View: 4508

Continue Reading →

Will these orphan sisters find their happy ending? When their mother dies and their father, in his grief, burns down their wagon and runs away, Kath and Ella - gypsy sisters - suddenly become orphans. With no one to turn to for help, they face hardship and hunger at every turn. Will their special sisters' bond be strong enough to see them to safety? From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a heartwarming tale of family and overcoming adversity. A perfect tearjearker for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court. 'A wonderful book, full of passion, pain, sweetness, twists and turns' Sheila Newberry.

LION

Der lange Weg nach Hause
Author: Saroo Brierley
Publisher: Ullstein eBooks
ISBN: 384370970X
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 304
View: 8570

Continue Reading →

Es ist ein Tag wie jeder andere im Leben des fünfjährigen Saroo: Auf dem Bahnhof einer indischen Kleinstadt sucht er nach Münzen und Essensresten. Schließlich schläft er vor Erschöpfung in einem wartenden Zug ein. Der fährt den kleinen Jungen ans andere Ende von Indien, nach Kalkutta. Völlig alleine an einem der gefährlichsten Orte der Welt schlägt er sich wochenlang auf der Straße durch, landet im Waisenhaus und gelangt so zu den Brierleys, die Saroo ein neues Zuhause in Australien schenken. Fünfundzwanzig Jahre später macht sich Saroo mit Hilfe von Google Earth auf die Suche nach seiner leiblichen Familie. Am Bildschirm fährt er Nacht für Nacht das Zugnetz von Indien ab. Das Unglaubliche passiert: Er findet ein Dorf, das dem Bild in seiner Erinnerung entspricht – und macht sich auf den Weg ...