Far From My Father's House

Will an orphan child find his happy ending?
Author: Elizabeth Gill
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 1782061746
Category: Fiction
Page: 256
View: 5352

Continue Reading →

When Blake's grandparents die suddenly, his world collapses. Parentless and friendless, he is taken in by a neighbouring farmer as hired help, where he meets the beautiful Annie, his employer's daughter. But Annie doesn't want to spend her life on the farm. Will he ever see her again? A gritty, emotional saga about love and second chances from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.

Nobody's Child

Will these orphan sisters find their happy ending?
Author: Elizabeth Gill
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 1784298972
Category: Fiction
Page: 400
View: 2870

Continue Reading →

Will these orphan sisters find their happy ending? When their mother dies and their father, in his grief, burns down their wagon and runs away, Kath and Ella - gypsy sisters - suddenly become orphans. With no one to turn to for help, they face hardship and hunger at every turn. Will their special sisters' bond be strong enough to see them to safety? From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a heartwarming tale of family and overcoming adversity. A perfect tearjearker for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court. 'A wonderful book, full of passion, pain, sweetness, twists and turns' Sheila Newberry.

In Love, Where I Belong

How to Experience God's Love
Author: Brenda VanWinkle
Publisher: Destiny Image Publishers
ISBN: 0768489768
Category: Religion
Page: 192
View: 2650

Continue Reading →

Using insightful teachings as well as beautifully described real-life experiences, the stories in In Love, Where I Belong weave together the profound reality that God’s love is for everyone, not just the “super-spiritual,” and that we all have a place where we belong—in His heart. Author Brenda VanWinkle knows what it’s like to be shackled to fear and loneliness. She also knows the sweet triumph of overcoming and finding genuine peace in the Lord. Her early childhood, though idyllic in spots, was also marred by the death of her mother. Over time, however, the discovery of God’s love for her washed away the insecurities. Today, she ministers with her husband, repairing broken relationships around the world.

Literature and the Child


Author: Lee Galda,Lauren A. Liang,Bernice E. Cullinan
Publisher: Cengage Learning
ISBN: 1305642368
Category: Business & Economics
Page: 560
View: 8783

Continue Reading →

LITERATURE AND THE CHILD, 9th Edition, offers thorough, concise coverage of the genres and formats of children’s literature and guidance on using literature in the classroom. With a focus on diverse award-winning titles, this market-leading text includes beautifully written and illustrated discussions of exemplary titles for readers in nursery school through middle school. A stunning design features interior illustrations by Lauren Stringer, an award-winning children’s book author and illustrator. Each genre chapter contains criteria for evaluating literary quality, equipping students with a resource to guide text selection in the classroom. Practical, research-based information about teaching appears throughout, including sample teaching ideas and an emphasis on the importance of selecting and teaching complex texts. Extensive booklists provide excellent, ongoing resources and highlight texts that emphasize diversity. This text helps teachers understand how to select books that best serve their curriculum goals as well as the interests and needs of their students. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

Die geheime Benedict-Gesellschaft


Author: Trenton Lee Stewart
Publisher: Bloomoon
ISBN: 3845801441
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 528
View: 2971

Continue Reading →

„Bist du ein begabtes Kind, das nach besonderen Herausforderungen sucht?“ Unzählige Kinder nehmen diese Herausforderung der mysteriösen Zeitungsannonce an – aber nur Reynie, Kate, Kleber und Constance bestehen auch den Test, der sich dahinter verbirgt. Ohne zu wissen, dass Ihnen nun eine Mission bevorsteht, die all ihren Mut und ihre vereinten Kräfte fordern wird...

LION

Der lange Weg nach Hause
Author: Saroo Brierley
Publisher: Ullstein eBooks
ISBN: 384370970X
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 304
View: 2119

Continue Reading →

Es ist ein Tag wie jeder andere im Leben des fünfjährigen Saroo: Auf dem Bahnhof einer indischen Kleinstadt sucht er nach Münzen und Essensresten. Schließlich schläft er vor Erschöpfung in einem wartenden Zug ein. Der fährt den kleinen Jungen ans andere Ende von Indien, nach Kalkutta. Völlig alleine an einem der gefährlichsten Orte der Welt schlägt er sich wochenlang auf der Straße durch, landet im Waisenhaus und gelangt so zu den Brierleys, die Saroo ein neues Zuhause in Australien schenken. Fünfundzwanzig Jahre später macht sich Saroo mit Hilfe von Google Earth auf die Suche nach seiner leiblichen Familie. Am Bildschirm fährt er Nacht für Nacht das Zugnetz von Indien ab. Das Unglaubliche passiert: Er findet ein Dorf, das dem Bild in seiner Erinnerung entspricht – und macht sich auf den Weg ...