Carrie's War


Author: Nina Bawden
Publisher: Penguin UK
ISBN: 0141909412
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 192
View: 6495

Continue Reading →

A Puffin Book - stories that last a lifetime. Carrie's War by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story. 'I did a dreadful thing...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...' It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister. Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life... Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story Carrie's War has delighted a whole generation of readers. Nina Bawden is without question one of the very best writers for children' Daily Telegraph Perfect for fans of Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian. Now part of the A Puffin Book - stories that last a lifetime - series Nina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig.

Narratives of Love and Loss

Studies in Modern Children's Fiction
Author: Margaret Rustin,Michael Rustin
Publisher: Karnac Books
ISBN: 9781855752696
Category: Literary Criticism
Page: 298
View: 6644

Continue Reading →

An important and perceptive contribution to the study of children's literature, this welcome reissue includes a new postscript exploring in detail the phenomenal success of J.K.Rowling's series of Harry Potter stories.

The Literate Classroom


Author: Prue Goodwin
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 1136751106
Category: Education
Page: 231
View: 4091

Continue Reading →

Updated to introduce topics within the context of the new Primary Strategy and the National Literacy Strategy, this edited collection provides sound advice and practical suggestions about the teaching of literacy.

LAMDA Acting Anthology


Author: N.A
Publisher: Oberon Books Limited
ISBN: 9781840023985
Category: Drama
Page: 287
View: 4715

Continue Reading →

This new volume presents the set selections for candidates entering Graded Examinations in Acting at Levels 1 and 2 in 2004-2009. The collection includes monologues and duologues from both classical and contemporary plays for young actors. The selections are varied in content, tone and style and are accompanied by a brief outline of the context and setting. The compilation will provide any student of drama with opportunities for creatively exploring character and story.

So Much To Tell


Author: Valerie Grove
Publisher: Penguin UK
ISBN: 0670918857
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 320
View: 7607

Continue Reading →

Kaye Webb, a journalist with no publishing experience, burst into the world of children's books in 1961 and changed the face of children's publishing forever. Her child-like enthusiasm and shrewd business mind led her to become Puffin's most successful editor and the genius behind the Puffin Club, which opened up the exciting world of authors and books to children across Britain. But whilst Kaye's professional life had worked out beautifully, her private life had been the reverse. Kaye had two husbands before her marriage to the artist Ronald Searle, and the torment of his sudden and shocking departure never left her. Yet to the outside world Kaye Webb remained passionate and unstoppable. This is the unknown story of the woman who brought the joy of books to children everywhere whilst battling the emotional pain that plagued her private life.

Der lange Weg zur Freiheit

Autobiographie
Author: Nelson Mandela
Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag
ISBN: 3104031541
Category: History
Page: 864
View: 5203

Continue Reading →

»Ich bin einer von ungezählten Millionen, die durch Nelson Mandelas Leben inspiriert wurden.« Barack Obama Eine fast drei Jahrzehnte währende Gefängnishaft ließ Nelson Mandela zum Mythos der schwarzen Befreiungsbewegung werden. Kaum ein anderer Politiker unserer Zeit symbolisiert heute in solchem Maße die Friedenshoffnungen der Menschheit und den Gedanken der Aussöhnung aller Rassen wie der ehemalige südafrikanische Präsident und Friedensnobelpreisträger. Auch nach seinem Tod finden seine ungebrochene Charakterstärke und Menschenfreundlichkeit die Bewunderung aller friedenswilligen Menschen auf der Welt. Mandelas Lebensgeschichte ist über die politische Bedeutung hinaus ein spannend zu lesendes, kenntnis- und faktenreiches Dokument menschlicher Entwicklung unter Bedingungen und Fährnissen, vor denen die meisten Menschen innerlich wie äußerlich kapituliert haben dürften.

Ich bin ein Stern


Author: Inge Auerbacher
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
Page: 102
View: 6218

Continue Reading →

In diesem autobiographischen Bericht erzählt Inge Auerbacher aus der Kinderperspektive, wie sie zusammen mit ihren Eltern ins KZ Theresienstadt eingeliefert wird, wie sie das KZ erlebt und überlebt hat. Illustriert mit Photographien der Autorin und Dokumentaraufnahmen. (Quelle Verzeichnis ZKL).

Wunder


Author: Raquel J. Palacio
Publisher: Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG
ISBN: 3446242848
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 384
View: 6683

Continue Reading →

August ist anders. Dennoch wünscht er sich, wie alle Jungen in seinem Alter, kein Außenseiter zu sein. Weil er seit seiner Geburt so oft am Gesicht operiert werden musste, ist er noch nie auf eine richtige Schule gegangen. Aber jetzt soll er in die fünfte Klasse kommen. Er weiß, dass die meisten Kinder nicht absichtlich gemein zu ihm sind. Am liebsten würde er gar nicht auffallen. Doch nicht aufzufallen ist nicht leicht, wenn man so viel Mut und Kraft besitzt, so witzig, klug und großzügig ist - wie August.

Einmal


Author: Morris Gleitzman
Publisher: Carlsen
ISBN: 3646901748
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 192
View: 5437

Continue Reading →

Der 9-jährige Felix lebt seit über drei Jahren in einem Waisenhaus. Dabei sind seine Eltern gar nicht tot. Sie müssen nur die Probleme mit ihrem Laden lösen. Denn für jüdische Buchhändler ist es 1942 in Polen sehr schwierig. Wie schwierig, das begreift Felix erst, als Männer mit Armbinden im Waisenhaus jüdische Bücher verbrennen. Felix reißt aus, um seine Eltern zu warnen. Unterwegs rettet er die kleine Zelda, deren Familie ermordet wurde – und er beginnt zu ahnen, was die Nazis wirklich vorhaben. --- Eine berührende Geschichte von Mut, vom Überleben und von der Freundschaft. --- Ausgezeichnet mt dem Katholischen Kinder- und Jugendbuchpreis 2011, nominiert für den Gustav-Heinemann-Friedenspreis 2010 und den Deutschen Jugendliteraturpreis 2010 (Jugendjury)

Literacy

What Works?
Author: Sue Palmer,Pie Corbett
Publisher: Nelson Thornes
ISBN: 9780748785193
Category: Education
Page: 87
View: 462

Continue Reading →

Sue Palmer and Pie Corbett are the best-known names in Primary Literacy. This book distils their vast experience, and the experience of five years of the Literacy Strategy. Enables the reader to discover 'how to really teach with what really works'.

The Puffin Book of Twentieth-Century Children's Stories


Author: Judith Elkin
Publisher: Viking Books
ISBN: 9780670820566
Category: History
Page: 524
View: 7410

Continue Reading →

Seventy-three extracts from books published between 1902 and 1989 for children ages eight to fourteen reflect the best writing from England, Australia, New Zealand, and the United States. Includes biographical notes on all the authors.

The Finding


Author: Nina Bawden
Publisher: Penguin UK
ISBN: 0141937173
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 144
View: 5491

Continue Reading →

Since nobody knows Alex's birthday (he was found abandoned, at the age of 5 months next to Cleopatra's Needle on the Embankment), he celebrates his finding day every year. On his eleventh finding day, Alex's gran takes him to visit old Mrs Angel, her neighbour, who gives him a photo of a girl in an old photograph frame. The girl in the photo, Mrs Angel's daughter who disappeared years ago, looks a bit like Alex. When Mrs Angel dies a few days later, it is discovered that she has left a fortune to Alex. Mrs Angel's nephew, her only relative and an extremely nasty man, is furious. Soon the local papers get hold of the story and Alex's family is pestered by reporters. Eventually Alex can't bear to see his mother so upset and, feeling it's all his fault, he runs away. After an adventures which becomes frightening, Alex is reunited and everything is sorted out.

Gute Nacht, Gorilla!


Author: Peggy Rathmann
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783895651779
Category: Animals
Page: 34
View: 4590

Continue Reading →

Nächtliche Entführung aus dem Zoo: Der Zoowärter dreht seine Runde im Zoo und wünscht allen Tieren eine gute Nacht. Dabei bemerkt er nicht, dass ihm der schlaue Gorilla den Schlüsselbund entwendet. Dieser trottet ihm hinterher und entlässt ein Tier nach dem anderen klammheimlich aus dessen Käfig. Vom Elefanten bis zum Gürteltier folgen nun alle Tiere dem müden Wärter bis in sein Schlafzimmer, wo sich alle gemütlich schlafen legen. Als die Wärtersfrau ihrem Schatz gute Nacht wünscht, antwortet die ganze Tierschar darauf höflich. Die Frau erschrickt und bringt pflichtbewusst alle Ausreisser zurück in ihre Käfige, ausser dem gefitzten Gorilla, der es wieder schafft, sich bei den Eheleuten genüsslich einzunisten. Ein lustiges Zoonachbereitungs- und Einschlafpappbuch mit köstlichen Bildern, das mit wenigen Worten sehr aussagekräftig ist und in Amerika bereits zu einem Riesenerfolg wurde. Wunderbar auch schon für die Kleinsten ein wahrer Bilderbuchschatz. Ab 3 Jahren, ausgezeichnet, Silvia Zanetti.

Reading History in Children's Books


Author: Catherine Butler,Hallie O'Donovan
Publisher: Springer
ISBN: 1137026030
Category: Literary Criticism
Page: 207
View: 1735

Continue Reading →

This book offers a critical account of historical books about Britain written for children, including realist novels, non-fiction, fantasy and alternative histories. It also investigates the literary, ideological and philosophical challenges involved in writing about the past, especially for an audience whose knowledge of history is often limited.

Der Herr der Nussknacker


Author: Iain Lawrence
Publisher: Verlag Freies Geistesleben
ISBN: 3772540414
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 224
View: 8488

Continue Reading →

Hass, Angst, Grauen, Verzweiflung und Sehnsucht nach Frieden - das sind Gefühle, wie sie in jedem Krieg viele Menschen durchmachen. Johnny erlebt sie besonders intensiv, als im August 1914 der Erste Weltkrieg ausbricht. Denn er merkt nicht nur, wie sich die Atmosphäre bei ihm zu Hause in England verändert. Und er erfährt auch nicht nur durch die Briefe seines Vaters, des Spielzeugmachers, von den Ereignissen an der Front. Er spielt sie mit seinen kleinen, aus Holz geschnitzten Soldaten nach und mit. - Was wäre, wenn er sie durch sein Spiel auch vorausbestimmen könnte?

Something about the Author


Author: Anne Commire
Publisher: Gale / Cengage Learning
ISBN: 9780810322790
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 248
View: 2507

Continue Reading →

Provides biographical information on the men and women who write and illustrate children's books