Cargoes of Despair and Hope

Scottish Emigration to North America, 1603-1803
Author: Ian Hugh Adams,Meredyth Somerville
Publisher: John Donald
ISBN: N.A
Category: Immigrants
Page: 258
View: 3217

Continue Reading →

Union and Empire

The Making of the United Kingdom in 1707
Author: Allan I. Macinnes
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 0521850797
Category: History
Page: 382
View: 756

Continue Reading →

A major interpretation of the 1707 Act of Union and the making of the United Kingdom.

The Oxford History of the British Empire: Volume II: The Eighteenth Century


Author: P. J. Marshall
Publisher: OUP Oxford
ISBN: 0191647357
Category: History
Page: 662
View: 9556

Continue Reading →

Volume II of the Oxford History of the British Empire examines the history of British worldwide expansion from the Glorious Revolution of 1689 to the end of the Napoleonic Wars, a crucial phase in the creation of the modern British Empire. This is the age of General Wolfe, Clive of India, and Captain Cook. The international team of experts deploy the latest scholarly research to trace and analyse development and expansion over more than a century. They show how trade, warfare, and migration created an Empire, at first overwhelmingly in the Americas but later increasingly in Asia. Although the Empire was ruptured by the American Revolution, it survived and grew into the British Empire that was to dominate the world during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. series blurb The Oxford History of the British Empire is a major new assessment of the Empire in the light of recent scholarship and the progressive opening of historical records. It deals with the interaction of British and non-western societies from the Elizabethan era to the late twentieth century, aiming to provide a balanced treatment of the ruled as well as the rulers, and to take into account the significance of the Empire for the peoples of the British Isles. It explores economic and social trends as well as political.

City of Hope & Despair


Author: Ian Whates
Publisher: Duncan Baird Publishers
ISBN: 0857660896
Category: Fiction
Page: 432
View: 7601

Continue Reading →

THEY CALL IT THE CITY OF A HUNDRED ROWS. The ancient city of Thaiburley is a vast, multi-tiered metropolis, where the poor live in the City Below, and demons are said to dwell in the Upper Heights. Forced to flee the city, Tom and Kat find themselves pursued through a merciless land but also find friends and allies in the most unusual places. More fabulous storytelling in a rich fantasy world of adventure, alchemy and magic.

The Book of Irvine - A Contemptuous Cargo


Author: Grandfather Nebulous
Publisher: Lulu.com
ISBN: 199985280X
Category: Fiction
Page: 654
View: 6732

Continue Reading →

The Book of Irvine deals with the smuggling adventures of Irvine Bucklefoot and his crew. They sail their vessel throughout the great oceans of the Hidden Lands and undertake a particularly long and arduous contract to deliver a certain contemptuous cargo that throws up all sorts of unforeseen circumstances... Recommended for fans of Tolkein, Lovecraft and Pratchett.

Sir William Johnson

Colonial American, 1715-1763
Author: Milton Wheaton Hamilton
Publisher: Associated Faculty PressInc
ISBN: N.A
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 402
View: 1871

Continue Reading →

Jacobite Estates of the Forty-five


Author: Annette M. Smith
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9781904607076
Category: Confiscations
Page: 288
View: 7153

Continue Reading →

The defeat of the Jacobites in 1746 resulted in the forfeiture of the estates of attainted rebels in the Highlands. This book is a detailed study of the estates before, during and after the annexations.

Precious Cargo


Author: Kris Ralston
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 1477153616
Category: Fiction
Page: 269
View: 8454

Continue Reading →

Back Matter Kevin Sweeleys Precious Cargo is a Bearded Dragon Lizard, Jenny, who is with him constantly at the forefront of his mind. She helps him make decisions and listens to his daily outpouring of thoughts and feelings. Kevin is diagnosed Paranoid Schizophrenic and swims through his troubles like a fish. He is given incredible powers by God to create anything at will. His soul mate, Katrina, also has Paranoid Schizophrenia, and goes walking on moonlit waters with him as they hold hands, make love, and Katrina is impregnated. They marry and leave the world behind. The philosophies of the double vice and twin mercy are discussed as well, flavoring the book with the condition of truth versus law.

Truth To The 1st Power

A Story of Faith,Despair and Lasting Hope
Author: Mike Thomas
Publisher: AuthorHouse
ISBN: 1496948661
Category: Religion
Page: 102
View: 4167

Continue Reading →

The theories and conclusions made within the pages of this book are meant to open the minds of the religious and non religious readers to the idea that faith that is declared a truth can and must be scrutinized in order to confirm and also remove doubt has to how one can perceive the world and appreciate its wonderful burden and blessing with regards to how religion paints our perception however accurate or inaccurate. The title ‘Truth to the 1st Power’ is an analogy to the math equation that anything to the power of one is essentially itself. The theory is to bring to life the principle idea that truth will always remain true and it will only expand but continue to remain constant all while being scrutinized. The truth will never deviate its first position of complete logic and relevance. The author attempts to bring this theory to the topic of religion with compelling conclusions.

Graphic Worlds of Peter Bruegel the Elder


Author: H. Arthur Klein
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 0486795411
Category: Art
Page: 176
View: 9566

Continue Reading →

Unique survey of best works by16th-century Flemish printmaker presents 64 engravings and one woodcut, each accompanied by an informative essay. Subjects include landscapes, ships and the sea, peasants, humor, and religion.

Bad Economics

Pestilent Economists, Profligate Governments, Debt, Dependency and Despair
Author: Peter Smith
Publisher: Connor Court Publishing
ISBN: 9781921421594
Category: Australia
Page: 233
View: 3621

Continue Reading →

Bad Economics is a book for everyone who wants to understand why things have gone wrong rather than slavishly accepting the mainstream version of events. It takes on the illusions and delusions which regularly shape economic policy. Absolutely no knowledge of economics is needed; only common sense and an open mind. It explains how bad economics is ruining Western societies, while good economics has been pushed aside. Its aim, by exposing the bad, is to contribute to the revival of the good. Two paths are still open: one informed by good economics, leading to hope; one by bad economics, leading to despair. The story isn't finished; the trends are unpromising. At the same time, the salutary experience Western societies are having in dealing with crippling government debt is keeping hope alive. CONTENTS PROLOGUE PREFACE 1. THE KEY TO TRUTH 2. PRICES AND PROSPERITY 3. SAVING AND INVESTING 4. KEYNES AND KEYNESIANS 5. KEYNESIAN WORLD 6. PRE-KEYNESIAN WORLD 7. BOOMING AND BUSTING 8. HOLY HOLES IN THE ECONOMY! THE GFC 9. HOLY HOLES II: WOEFUL POLICY 10. HOLY HOLES III: PESTILENT ECONOMISTS 11. DRESSED UP STATISTICAL NONSENSE 12. CONTRADICTION IN TERMS 13. SPREADING THE WEALTH 14. HOPE AND DESPAIR 15. CARGO CULT AND DEPENDENCY 16. INTERNATIONAL DEPENDENCY 17. UNHINGED FROM PRACTICALITY 18. UTOPIA 19. BAD ARITHMETIC 20. MASTERS OF THE UNIVERSE 21. GRAND BARGAIN APPENDIX: TEMPERAMENTAL BIAS INDEX

Water Security in India

Hope, Despair, and the Challenges of Human Development
Author: Vandana Asthana,A. C. Shukla
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
ISBN: 1441118225
Category: Political Science
Page: 368
View: 2564

Continue Reading →

Few people actively engaged in India's water sector would deny that the Indian subcontinent faces serious problems in the sustainable use and management of water resources. Water resources in India have been subjected to tremendous pressures from increasing population, urbanization, industrialization, and modern agricultural methods. The inadequate access to clean drinking water, increase in water related disasters such as floods and droughts, vulnerability to climate change and competition for the resource amongst different sectors and the region poses immense pressures for sustainability of water systems and humanity. Water Security in India addresses these issues head on, analyzing the challenges that contemporary India faces if it is to create a water-secure world, and providing a hopeful, though guarded, road-map to a future in which India's life-giving and life-sustaining fresh water resources are safe, clean, plentiful, and available to all, secured for the people in a peaceful and ecologically sustainable manner.

Die Nacht

Erinnerung und Zeugnis
Author: Elie Wiesel
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783451060144
Category:
Page: 157
View: 8021

Continue Reading →

The African Diaspora

A History Through Culture
Author: Patrick Manning
Publisher: Columbia University Press
ISBN: 0231513550
Category: History
Page: 424
View: 9378

Continue Reading →

Patrick Manning refuses to divide the African diaspora into the experiences of separate regions and nations. Instead, he follows the multiple routes that brought Africans and people of African descent into contact with one another and with Europe, Asia, and the Americas. In weaving these stories together, Manning shows how the waters of the Atlantic Ocean, the Mediterranean Sea, and the Indian Ocean fueled dynamic interactions among black communities and cultures and how these patterns resembled those of a number of connected diasporas concurrently taking shape across the globe. Manning begins in 1400 and traces five central themes: the connections that enabled Africans to mutually identify and hold together as a global community; discourses on race; changes in economic circumstance; the character of family life; and the evolution of popular culture. His approach reveals links among seemingly disparate worlds. In the mid-nineteenth century, for example, slavery came under attack in North America, South America, southern Africa, West Africa, the Ottoman Empire, and India, with former slaves rising to positions of political prominence. Yet at the beginning of the twentieth century, the near-elimination of slavery brought new forms of discrimination that removed almost all blacks from government for half a century. Manning underscores the profound influence that the African diaspora had on world history, demonstrating the inextricable link between black migration and the rise of modernity, especially in regards to the processes of industrialization and urbanization. A remarkably inclusive and far-reaching work, The African Diaspora proves that the advent of modernity cannot be imaginatively or comprehensively engaged without taking the African peoples and the African continent as a whole into account.