Anasazi America

Seventeen Centuries on the Road from Center Place, Second Edition
Author: David E. Stuart
Publisher: UNM Press
ISBN: 0826354793
Category: History
Page: 344
View: 2553

Continue Reading →

At the height of their power in the late eleventh century, the Chaco Anasazi dominated a territory in the American Southwest larger than any European principality of the time. Developed over the course of centuries and thriving for over two hundred years, the Chacoans’ society collapsed dramatically in the twelfth century in a mere forty years. David E. Stuart incorporates extensive new research findings through groundbreaking archaeology to explore the rise and fall of the Chaco Anasazi and how it parallels patterns throughout modern societies in this new edition. Adding new research findings on caloric flows in prehistoric times and investigating the evolutionary dynamics induced by these forces as well as exploring the consequences of an increasingly detached central Chacoan decision-making structure, Stuart argues that Chaco’s failure was a failure to adapt to the consequences of rapid growth—including problems with the misuse of farmland, malnutrition, loss of community, and inability to deal with climatic catastrophe. Have modern societies learned from the experience and fate of the Chaco Anasazi, or are we risking a similar cultural collapse?

Ancient Complex Societies


Author: Jennifer C. Ross,Sharon R. Steadman
Publisher: Taylor & Francis
ISBN: 1315305623
Category: HISTORY
Page: 440
View: 8841

Continue Reading →

Ancient Complex Societies examines the archaeological evidence for the rise and functioning of politically and socially “complex” cultures in antiquity. Particular focus is given to civilizations exhibiting positions of leadership, social and administrative hierarchies, emerging and already developed complex religious systems, and economic differentiation. Case studies are drawn from around the globe, including Asia, the Mediterranean region, and the American continents. Using case studies from Africa, Polynesia, and North America, discussion is dedicated to identifying what “complex” means and when it should be applied to ancient systems. Each chapter attempts to not only explore the sociopolitical and economic elements of ancient civilizations, but to also present an overview of what life was like for the later population within each system, sometimes drilling down to individual people living their daily lives. Throughout the chapters, the authors address problems with the idea of complexity, the incomparability of cultures, and the inconsistency of archaeological and historical evidence in reconstructing ancient cultures.

Canyon Gardens

The Ancient Pueblo Landscapes of the American Southwest
Author: Vincent Barrett Price,Baker H. Morrow
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Architecture
Page: 217
View: 9804

Continue Reading →

A new look at Puebloan landscaping techniques and uses of plants and how they can influence modern architects in the Southwest.

America, History and Life


Author: Eric H. Boehm
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: United States
Page: N.A
View: 1110

Continue Reading →

Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

Kollaps

Warum Gesellschaften überleben oder untergehen
Author: Jared Diamond
Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag
ISBN: 3104034001
Category: History
Page: 736
View: 9238

Continue Reading →

Der Weltbestseller als erweiterte Neuausgabe! Die überwucherten Tempelruinen von Angkor Wat, die zerfallenden Pyramiden der Maya in Yucatan und die rätselhaften Moai-Statuen der Osterinsel – sie alle sind stille Zeugen von einstmals blühenden Kulturen, die irgendwann verschwanden. Doch was waren die Ursachen dafür? Jared Diamond zeichnet in seiner erweiterten, faszinierenden wie hochaktuellen Studie die Muster nach, die dem Untergang von Gesellschaften (oder ihrem Überleben) zugrunde liegen, und zeigt, was wir für unsere Zukunft daraus lernen können.

Ich singe mein Lied für Donner, Wind und Wolken

Das Leben von Fools Crow
Author: Thomas E. Mails
Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag
ISBN: 3105618457
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 336
View: 4913

Continue Reading →

Fools Crow (1890–1989), einer der letzten großen Häuptlinge der Sioux, erhielt in einer Vision den Auftrag, sein Wissen um die heiligen Traditionen seines Volkes aufzeichnen zu lassen. Sein von Thomas E. Mails niedergeschriebener Bericht ist ein faszinierendes Zeugnis der Weisheit einer »ökologischen Spiritualität«, deren Bedeutung für unser Überleben auf diesem Planeten heute von Indianern wie Nicht-Indianern wiederentdeckt wird. (Dieser Text bezieht sich auf eine frühere Ausgabe.)

Tage des Wolfs

der erste Roman des Anasazi-Zyklus
Author: Kathleen O'Neal Gear,W. Michael Gear
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783453869752
Category:
Page: 555
View: 6204

Continue Reading →

Die Stadt des Affengottes

Eine unbekannte Zivilisation, ein mysteriöser Fluch, eine wahre Geschichte
Author: Douglas Preston
Publisher: DVA
ISBN: 3641203929
Category: History
Page: 368
View: 9081

Continue Reading →

Eine wahre Indiana-Jones-Geschichte - eine archäologische Sensation Schon seit dem 16. Jahrhundert gab es Gerüchte über eine Provinz im Regenwald von Honduras, deren Städte reich und prachtvoll seien, ganz besonders die Weiße Stadt, auch Stadt des Affengottes genannt. Immer wieder machten sich Abenteurer und Archäologen auf die Suche nach den Zeugnissen dieser Zivilisation, die offenbar nicht zu den Mayas gehörte. Manchmal stießen sie tatsächlich auf Ruinen, aber eine wirkliche Erforschung war in dem von giftigen Schlangen und tödlichen Krankheitserregern verseuchten und vom Dschungel überwucherten Gelände unmöglich. Erst die moderne Lasertechnik, mit deren Hilfe das Gelände aus der Luft gescannt wird, ermöglichte genauere Hinweise, wo sich größere Ansiedlungen befinden. Um sie vor Ort zu untersuchen muss man sich allerdings auch heute noch auf den beschwerlichen Weg durch den Dschungel machen. Der Schriftsteller und Journalist Douglas Preston schloss sich kürzlich einer archäologischen Expedition an. Sie fand tatsächlich die eindrucksvollen Ruinen einer untergegangenen Stadt, aber sie zahlte am Ende auch einen hohen Preis.

Das Buch der Hopi

Mythen, Legenden und Geschichte eines Indianervolkes
Author: Frank Waters
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783426774441
Category:
Page: 507
View: 1967

Continue Reading →

The Bloomsbury Review


Author: Ray González
Publisher: Arte Publico Press
ISBN: 9780934770590
Category: Books
Page: 64
View: 3325

Continue Reading →

Ray Gonzalez first full-length collection of poetry explores the landscapes of the Southwest and those of the psyche, in the tradition of Walt Whitman and Antonio Machado.

Die Katze, die durch Wände geht

Roman
Author: Robert A. Heinlein
Publisher: Heyne Verlag
ISBN: 3641180465
Category: Fiction
Page: 624
View: 8892

Continue Reading →

Ein Mann sitzt gerade mit seiner Traumfrau beim Rendezvous, als ein Fremder hereinplatzt, irgendetwas von Mord erzählt und dann vor ihren Augen erschossen wird. Und damit fängt für Richard Ames und Gwen Novak ein wildes Abenteuer an, das sie durch Raum und Zeit und quer durchs Sonnensystem jagen wird ...

OMU. Erlebnisse in der Südsee


Author: Herman Melville
Publisher: BookRix
ISBN: 3736876653
Category: Fiction
Page: 341
View: 4701

Continue Reading →

Das Werk "OMU. Erlebnisse in der Südsee" ist ein Roman von Herman Melville, erstmals 1847 veröffentlicht. Der Originaltitel lautet "Omoo: A Narrative of Adventures in the South Seas". Herman Melville, geboren als Herman Melvill (* 1. August 1819 in New York City, New York; † 28. September 1891 ebenda) war ein amerikanischer Schriftsteller, Dichter und Essayist. Melvilles "Moby-Dick" gilt als einer der bedeutendsten Romane der Weltliteratur.

Publishers Weekly


Author: American Book Trade Association,American Book Trade Union,Book Trade Association of Philadelphia,Publishers' Board of Trade
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category:
Page: N.A
View: 3522

Continue Reading →