Anasazi America

Seventeen Centuries on the Road from Center Place, Second Edition
Author: David E. Stuart
Publisher: UNM Press
ISBN: 0826354793
Category: History
Page: 344
View: 3460

Continue Reading →

At the height of their power in the late eleventh century, the Chaco Anasazi dominated a territory in the American Southwest larger than any European principality of the time. Developed over the course of centuries and thriving for over two hundred years, the Chacoans’ society collapsed dramatically in the twelfth century in a mere forty years. David E. Stuart incorporates extensive new research findings through groundbreaking archaeology to explore the rise and fall of the Chaco Anasazi and how it parallels patterns throughout modern societies in this new edition. Adding new research findings on caloric flows in prehistoric times and investigating the evolutionary dynamics induced by these forces as well as exploring the consequences of an increasingly detached central Chacoan decision-making structure, Stuart argues that Chaco’s failure was a failure to adapt to the consequences of rapid growth—including problems with the misuse of farmland, malnutrition, loss of community, and inability to deal with climatic catastrophe. Have modern societies learned from the experience and fate of the Chaco Anasazi, or are we risking a similar cultural collapse?

Ancient Complex Societies


Author: Jennifer C. Ross,Sharon R. Steadman
Publisher: Taylor & Francis
ISBN: 1315305623
Category: HISTORY
Page: 440
View: 4354

Continue Reading →

Ancient Complex Societies examines the archaeological evidence for the rise and functioning of politically and socially “complex” cultures in antiquity. Particular focus is given to civilizations exhibiting positions of leadership, social and administrative hierarchies, emerging and already developed complex religious systems, and economic differentiation. Case studies are drawn from around the globe, including Asia, the Mediterranean region, and the American continents. Using case studies from Africa, Polynesia, and North America, discussion is dedicated to identifying what “complex” means and when it should be applied to ancient systems. Each chapter attempts to not only explore the sociopolitical and economic elements of ancient civilizations, but to also present an overview of what life was like for the later population within each system, sometimes drilling down to individual people living their daily lives. Throughout the chapters, the authors address problems with the idea of complexity, the incomparability of cultures, and the inconsistency of archaeological and historical evidence in reconstructing ancient cultures.

Canyon Gardens

The Ancient Pueblo Landscapes of the American Southwest
Author: Vincent Barrett Price,Baker H. Morrow
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Architecture
Page: 217
View: 3190

Continue Reading →

A new look at Puebloan landscaping techniques and uses of plants and how they can influence modern architects in the Southwest.

America, History and Life


Author: Eric H. Boehm
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: United States
Page: N.A
View: 5311

Continue Reading →

Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

Tage des Wolfs

der erste Roman des Anasazi-Zyklus
Author: Kathleen O'Neal Gear,W. Michael Gear
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783453869752
Category:
Page: 555
View: 545

Continue Reading →

Politics In America 2000 Paperback Edition


Author: CQ Press
Publisher: CQ Press
ISBN: 9781568024714
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 1584
View: 6842

Continue Reading →

With complete information for the 106th Congress, this text features objectively written profiles on every member of the United States Congress. The profiles contain biographical data, descriptions of relevant districts and analysis of legislative priorities. A free CD-ROM accompanies the book.

Kollaps

warum Gesellschaften überleben oder untergehen
Author: Jared M. Diamond
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783596192588
Category:
Page: 722
View: 3512

Continue Reading →

The Bloomsbury Review


Author: Ray González
Publisher: Arte Publico Press
ISBN: 9780934770590
Category: Books
Page: 64
View: 7155

Continue Reading →

Ray Gonzalez first full-length collection of poetry explores the landscapes of the Southwest and those of the psyche, in the tradition of Walt Whitman and Antonio Machado.

In die Wildnis

Allein nach Alaska
Author: Jon Krakauer
Publisher: Piper Verlag
ISBN: 3492957773
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 304
View: 7867

Continue Reading →

Im August 1992 wurde die Leiche von Chris McCandless im Eis von Alaska gefunden. Wer war dieser junge Mann, und was hatte ihn in die gottverlassene Wildnis getrieben? Jon Krakauer hat sein Leben erforscht, seine Reise in den Tod rekonstruiert und ein traurig-schönes Buch geschrieben über die Sehnsucht, die diesen Mann veranlasste, sämtliche Besitztümer und Errungenschaften der Zivilisation hinter sich zu lassen, um tief in die wilde und einsame Schönheit der Natur einzutauchen.– Verfilmt von Sean Penn mit Emile Hirsch.

CQ's Politics in America

2000, the 106th Congress
Author: Philip D. Duncan,Brian Nutting,CQ Press
Publisher: CQ Press
ISBN: 9781568024707
Category: Political Science
Page: 1564
View: 5247

Continue Reading →

Now updated with complete information for the 106th Congress, Politics in America 2000 features objectively written, crisp profiles on every member of Congress. Each profile covers the member's first few months in office, including his or her committee assignments and any major accomplishments.Profiles of every member of Congress include: -- biographical data, committee assignments, election results and key votes-- detailed description of each member's congressional district, including updated maps, voting trends, and business and industry information-- an analysis of each member's legislative priorities, personal style, and achievementsSpecial features you'll find in Politics in America 2000 include: member name pronunciation guide, governors' and lieutenant governors' data, state votes for president, state demographics, major employers in each of the districts, member name index.

Publishers Weekly


Author: American Book Trade Association,American Book Trade Union,Book Trade Association of Philadelphia,Publishers' Board of Trade
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category:
Page: N.A
View: 5438

Continue Reading →

The Book review digest

Annual cumulation
Author: Clara Elizabeth Fanning,Margaret Jackdon,H.W. Wilson Company,Mary Katharine Reely,Mertice May James
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Books
Page: N.A
View: 9299

Continue Reading →